The New Machine.

Isn’t she beautiful?

I took her on some test drives this weekend, finishing up a couple of baby projects for me! I finished the diaper changing pad (from Little Stitches) and the baby sling.

What I’m most excited about? I finished sewing together all of the blocks for the baby quilt.

Does anyone else think the the light blue squares look a little weird in the grand scheme of the composition of the quilt? Or do they provide balance? Or is it the orange squares that are throwing things off?

UPDATE 4:05 pm: OK, based on the comments, what about something like this?

26 Comments

  1. Jason
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 3:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s a baby quilt, I think they all work together just fine.

  2. Posted February 16, 2009 at 4:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s the orange, Jason… maybe you could do a navy square to replace the orange ones 🙂

  3. Posted February 16, 2009 at 4:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t decide. It’s super cute, but I think it’s the combination of the two that is throwing things off. If the orange was a bit duller or the baby blue was a bit brighter, I think it’d work, but I think it’s those two that are fighting. But..its still cute!

  4. Posted February 16, 2009 at 4:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I agree with Claire. I think it might also be that there isn’t any orange in the other blocks. Dark brown maybe instead?

  5. Posted February 16, 2009 at 4:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think Lexie’s got it — navy squares would be just right in place of the orange ones. With light coloured centres. Your new sewing machine is gorgeous! Have lots of fun creating with her. Take care, Dianne B. in England

  6. Posted February 16, 2009 at 4:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh and I think the light blue ones look good. 🙂

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 4:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think I like the idea of doing navy. I’ll have to scrounge around and see what I have in my fabric stash. I think navy might balance it out a little more. The edging (as of right now) is going to be dark brown, so I don’t know if I’d want to do another dark brown square.

  8. kaylebug
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 4:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I like it like it is, but I think swapping the orange or navy blue would make it even cooler.
    🙂

  9. Posted February 16, 2009 at 5:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Mmmm yes. Looks perfect. 🙂

  10. Posted February 16, 2009 at 5:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I like the 2nd option better since in the first there was no orange accents in any of the other blocks to tie it together. 🙂

  11. Elizabeth
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 5:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, the idea of the orange came from adding a complementary color to the mix, I thought blue, green and orange look pretty good together normally. . . apparently not so much in the quilt.

    Hopefully I have enough of the fabric scraps I’m thinking of to make the new navy and blue blocks!

  12. Posted February 16, 2009 at 6:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well, I obviously didn’t see this post when all of the orange controversy was going on! But I do think the second round looks better – so cute!

  13. pearl
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 7:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    the light blue and orange would look fine together, but the white was throwing the balance off.

    So white, light blue, navy work fine. But you could also replace the white with something else and i think that could work. Your complementary color theory is fine 🙂

  14. pearl
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 7:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i think.

  15. pearl
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 7:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i think this is because orange is a strong color, it needs to be balanced. and the white wasn’t doing it. and there weren’t enough light blue numerically to do it either.

  16. pearl
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 7:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    ok, ok, just one more comment!!! which might help on later quilts!

    http://www.tigercolor.com/color-lab/color-theory/color-theory-intro.htm

  17. kaylebug
    Posted February 16, 2009 at 10:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I really like the navy blue blocks.

  18. Elizabeth
    Posted February 17, 2009 at 9:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Pearl, I agree, the orange and the blue would have been alright together since they’re complimentary colors, but since so many of the squares have green in them, the orange just doesn’t work any longer! And the ice blue blocks were so light they can be perceived as white, so that didn’t help the matter. I think by swapping the orange with the navy blue with a lighter blue print, I’ll stick to staying within the cool colors (which is my tendency anyways), therefore making color theory sense. 🙂

    I think I’m going to turn the orange squares into coasters so they don’t go to waste. Time to buy some cork and double sided fusible interfacing!

    Thanks for all the feedback everyone!

  19. pearl
    Posted February 17, 2009 at 11:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    blue/green/orange would be a split-complementary color scheme. so it could still work! but maybe it would need a different shade of green.

  20. Posted February 17, 2009 at 3:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i think that the edit looks great. i was having trouble deciding, then saw your edit and think it must have been the orange. it looks fabulous!

    (i am a friend of the hadfield’s and hopped over here from her blog- you have good stuff!)

  21. Janette Kuhnel
    Posted February 17, 2009 at 4:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Beth! I love them both, but I do agree that the orange is kind of floating, since there is not any orange in any of the other blocks. I think the navy squares work better. Hope you are having tons of fun with your new machine!!! Good luck finishing the quilt! I want to see it when it is complete!! 🙂
    Love, Janette

  22. Posted February 17, 2009 at 6:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love your sewing machine!!! She is beautiful!

    Everything looks great so far! Must show your quilt in future stages, too. 🙂

  23. Posted February 18, 2009 at 4:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi there!
    I “found” you through your delicious “Crustless Onion & Feta Quiche (which is now almost a weekly favorite here!) and pop in from time to time. I just had to comment on this post as I also have that beauty of a machine (I got her last May for my birthday and love her so!) AND I’m working on that same quilt pattern for my almost FIVE year old (my one and only and always my baby boy) except that I’m doing it X four so it will cover his new full size big boy bed. I’ve got everything cut and now to get blocking!!

    I can’t wait to see it all done and in the nursery, congratulations!! Happy Day!

  24. cooperella
    Posted February 19, 2009 at 1:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    whoa, sewing machines have gotten way fancy since I last used my mom’s (circa 1987)… what are all those electronic button-looking thingys for? where did all the nobs and dials go? 🙂

  25. Posted February 19, 2009 at 1:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think that I’m going to make a sling too… it looks pretty simple to do. Did you go for the small sizing? I’m just wondering if I should go a little larger, assuming post preggo measurements will still be a little larger (for a while anyway) than my typical measurements?

    Am I thinking too much about this? 🙂

  26. Elizabeth
    Posted February 19, 2009 at 1:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Mindy – You know, I still haven’t figured out all the buttons yet. . . we’ll see if they baffle me! 🙂

    Sheri – I keep reading that the shoulder to hip measurement is the most important measurement in determining your sling size. I ended up making myself a large even though the size calculator told me I am a medium. I have a longer torso, so I figured I could use the extra length. You could always do a ring sling – I made one for a friend and it took about 15 minutes. I plan on making myself one to see what I prefer. I used this pattern with these rings. You don’t have to worry about sizing with that type of sling and your hubby could use it too if he wanted!

    Eventually I want to write up a little tutorial on slings as I make more of them and get some more experience. They’re so easy to make and so beneficial!

2 Trackbacks

  1. By » Blog Archive » New Addition on February 18, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    […] — but one in particular that I am super excited to share with you. Seems like all my sewing girls have been getting new machines lately and now I get to jump on board too! Yippeee!  So I […]

  2. […] |   Well, this was a weekend of little to no sewing (minus a bit of ironing to prepare the quilt for it’s next stage and cutting out a few things) but plenty of fun book club, friends and […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

