Eggplant Parmesan

This week, I am attempting a week of vegetarianism. Just a week. I may toss some fish in there, but who’s counting. . . 🙂 I started on Sunday, although, come to think of it, we did have a couple of samples at HEB that were chicken. . . oh well.

When I think vegetarian, eggplant often comes to mind. I’m not a big fan of eggplant. I want to be, but the couple of times I’ve made it have been disastrous. It always tastes so slimy with that thick inedible skin. Yuck. Well, a coworker of mine loaned me a cookbook, the Moosewood Restaurant Low Fat Favorites (which is all vegetarian and has won numerous awards) and shared with me that that one of her favorite recipes she had tried from it was the Eggplant Parmesan. So, I decided to suck it up and try eggplant again.

I’m glad I gave it another shot – the recipe was pretty solid. If anything it redeemed my faith in eggplant. The texture was not slimy and I could eat the skin without gagging. Very exciting! And the best part? It was better as leftovers.

Recipe for Eggplant Parmesan


(This picture makes me really happy – good job on the photograph Jason!)

4 Comments

  1. Posted February 17, 2009 at 9:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yumm! I love eggplant!

  2. Posted February 17, 2009 at 11:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beth, I made eggplant the other day too and the recipe said to slice the eggplant and then sprinkle salt on it and let it sit in a collander for 20-30 then squeeze out any liquid by placing the slices between two paper towels. Doing this removed any bitter taste and it actually tasted kind of sweet when it was cooked. Well fried in olive oil. So much for super healthy but it was super tasty!

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted February 17, 2009 at 11:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve actually ‘sweated’ the eggplant by using salt in the past and it didn’t turn out so well for me. Granted, the slices I sweated went into a vegetable bake and didn’t get coated in bread crumbs!

    I didn’t really have a problem with bitterness in this recipe but I’m sure you could apply the same technique here. I actually really liked how firm the eggplant was after bread-ing and baking for 40 minutes. It seemed to hold up to the tomato sauce really well, which hadn’t been the case for me in the past with eggplant.

  4. Chance
    Posted February 17, 2009 at 11:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey, we have that cookbook! Guess we will have to try that recipe.

One Trackback

  1. […] Italian, Pasta, spinach, vegetables, vegetarian, walnut |   I mentioned that last week was a week of vegetarianism for me in preparation for all of the beef that we would be receiving! So I queued up my grocery […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

