Animals Rockin’ Out!

I know, some people call this ‘nesting’. I call it, ‘I’m a designer and want everything to look exactly how I envision it.’ In other words, snobby. I’ve started working on some ‘art’ (if you can call it art) pieces for Jude’s room. Ellie actually sent me a link to some prints on Etsy that inspired me to make my own similar ‘prints’ (because I’m cheap and like to figure out how to make things myself).

So I’m pretty excited about these rockin’ animals – I’m going to frame them in ikea frames and hang them in triptych format (because we all know how much I love hanging picture frames in sets of three!) on one of the two blank walls in the room. If you are curious about how they were made, I hand sketched them with pencil until I was happy with their proportions and then put a piece of trace paper over them and took care to draw even pen lines without any sketchy quality. Then I scanned them into photoshop where I did some color fills. Nice and simple. I mean, animals on musical instruments just make sense for his room! Come on, his name is Jude. . .  we are planning for him to be a rockstar (disclaimer: we are totally planning to let him do whatever it is that he is interested in doing and not pressuring him to do music unless he wants to play music!!). 🙂

The raccoon may be my favorite. I love that it’s a subtle hint to ‘Rocky Raccoon’, another Beatles song (that is currently stuck in my head).

Bass players are always big bear-like guys, right? (Just kidding for all you non-bear-like bass players out there.)

Oh and the chicken. Apparently Jason says The Presidents of the United States (yeah, that OLD band) referenced a ‘chicken on the drums’ so he insisted that the animal on the drums had to be a chicken. Right. I just love that the comb on his head is a nice allusion to a mohawk. 🙂 Although I guess techinically, he’s a ‘rooster’, but then a female is a ‘hen’, so I’m assuming ‘chicken’ is the non gender specific way to refer to that animal. Hehe.

7 Comments

  1. Posted February 18, 2009 at 1:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow. These are seriously TOO cute. I love the prints – I almost want some for our home! (: What etsy shop inspired you? Maybe you really SHOULD start an etsy store, Beth.

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted February 18, 2009 at 2:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Barking Bird Art was the etsy shop that Ellie sent me. I don’t think I could sell these because they are too similar to her art. I think I’d have to be more original! I could definitely see myself using this technique again though (in a more original manner) – sketch, line drawing and quick color fills in photoshop – super easy with loads of possibilities!

  3. Posted February 18, 2009 at 4:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my goodness! Those are too cute… so you know, we’re all expecting to see some nursery shots once it’s all done! No pressure, though. 🙂

  4. kaylebug
    Posted February 18, 2009 at 5:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those are too cute! I like the drumming chicken the best.

  5. Posted February 18, 2009 at 5:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    They turned out so great! (even better than the ones I sent you!). They are so perfect.

  6. cooperella
    Posted February 19, 2009 at 1:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    those are so cute, Beth! I could totally see these printed on a onesie.

  7. jenn
    Posted February 20, 2009 at 9:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very sweet and fun. It’s hard to pick which is my favorite, but maybe the bear. Your son is going to love them. I still don’t have my kid’s rooms decorated and even cheated the second time around and got his sister to do some artwork. I love how you are so productive.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

