Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti

I wanted to use up some hazelnuts that I had in the pantry before they went rancid. Those suckers are expensive! So, I saw this recipe from the Moosewood Resturant Low-Fat Favorites cookbook that my coworker loaned me and realized I already had all of the ingredients on hand. Pretty convenient. So I whipped up a batch of my first ever biscotti. Super super easy to do – I had no idea! I also didn’t realize that they are baked twice, once in a log shape, and then once after being cut on a hard diagonal. That makes them super crunchy, capable of keeping for weeks in a sealed container and perfect for dipping in tea, coffee or milk. They are also healthier than I realized – there is no fat added to the recipe, no oils, no butters. The only thing that is ‘bad for you’ is the sugar.

These would make great gifts if you prettied them up by dipping the ends in chocolate and rolling in chopped hazelnuts (I thought about doing this, but got lazy), add to a cute coffee mug with some fresh coffee beans, ta-da! Fancy, cheap gift!

Recipe for Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti

5 Comments

  1. Posted February 19, 2009 at 8:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think my daughter would really like this. I’ve never made biscotti before… is it fairly easy to do?

  2. Posted February 19, 2009 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    They look great! My mom used to make biscottis pretty often…I’ve never been a huge fan, but they are good dipped in coffee.

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted February 19, 2009 at 9:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    Sheri – It is very easy! You essentially mix together the dry ingredients and add some egg and egg white and a bit of water. Then form into a ‘log’ and bake. Cool, slice, bake again. Nothing to it!

  4. kaylebug
    Posted February 19, 2009 at 4:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    biscotti’s are pretty much amazing. my favorite are the chocolate biscottis.

  5. kaylebug
    Posted February 19, 2009 at 4:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    is*

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

