Am I Crazy?

Wait a second before answering that please. I just really really like this convertible car seat in cow print. I like that it’s obnoxiously tacky. Would everyone think I was crazy if I took our infant little boy home in this crazy loud printed car seat? Maybe our recent cow purchase is infecting my brain.

I see a future educational opportunity at hand here. . . Please comment and tell me if you love it or hate it before I actually do something crazy and register for this guy. 🙂

(P.S. Apparently there are two things you don’t buy used with babies, car seats and matresses. Hence the registering for a new one – although we’re only getting one convertible seat to last from infant to toddler = cheaper and less waste. Who knew car seats had expiration dates! What happens to all those old carseats? They’re ALL landfill bound? Seriously? Someone needs to start a recycling program. OK P.S. done.)

(P.P.S. Ah, I had one more thought about car seats – they have those infant carriers and I know they’re convenient and all, but I worry about the baby not getting held enough because you can just pick it up and put it down like a piece of furniture. . . I decided I’d rather not carry around the extra weight of the carseat everywhere I go and to use the sling instead. It’s just as convenient, you have to buy less stuff, it’s less bulky and I get more holding time with the baby, even if I have to wake the baby up from a nap to get into the sling. Seems like a win-win situation to me! OK, I’m really done this time.)

20 Comments

  1. Posted February 24, 2009 at 5:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yikes! I’m just wondering what education opportunities you have in mind…I’m not gonna lie, the cow print is not for me, but hey, if you like, then go for it!

  2. Posted February 24, 2009 at 6:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Haha, that is awesome. I’m going to have to agree with Ellie…. not for me. But, on the bright side, it is gender neutral, so you could use it again even if you have a girl next time! I say get it if you love it. 🙂

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted February 24, 2009 at 6:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ellie – I’m thinking ‘The cow says moooo, you’re sitting in cow print, cows look like that, only bigger!’

    I’m such a solid colors type of person that I’ll probably end up dressing the baby in solid colors most of the time. And I love the way cow print and solid colors interact. Especially bring solid colors and cow print. And I mean, come on, my car is gray. How boring is that? Something needs to bring excitement to the back seat?

    And, I won’t lie, it reminds me of my cow print guitar strap. 🙂

  4. Posted February 24, 2009 at 6:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yes…but ONLY if you love it. And do consider what town you’re in and how many glares you might get from the veggies. Just sayin’.

    I’m gonna agree with the other two lovely ladies here. I’m NOT an animal print fan. Cow? No thank you. Plus, it’d be dangerous for me – I’d crave chick-fil-a every time I looked at it.

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted February 24, 2009 at 6:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Claire – it’s faux cow! Not real cow! I’m not normally an animal print fan either, especially cat themed prints. But somehow zebra, cow and giraffe are the most tolerable for me. Mostly cow though. 🙂

  6. Posted February 24, 2009 at 6:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hmm, Claire makes a pretty going point about the Chic-fil-A. We should proceed with caution.

    (Did I mention that I don’t like it?)

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted February 24, 2009 at 6:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    But just think of all the stains it will be able to hide! And it’s not like Jude is wearing cow print, he’s just sitting in it!

  8. Posted February 24, 2009 at 6:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Answer to question in the title: Yes.

    🙂

  9. kaylebug
    Posted February 24, 2009 at 8:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love it!! I really like animal and abstract prints and this is really neat! I think you should go for it Beth!

  10. Posted February 24, 2009 at 11:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Your note about not dressing Jude in cow print made me think of this haunted house I went to at Six Flags when I was like 12…they had a wall painted in cow print and people DRESSED as cows standing up against it. They were supposed to come off the wall and scare you cause you couldn’t see them, but I accidentally stepped on one of their feet first. I think I actually apologized. All that to say, you COULD both dress Jude like a cow AND have the car seat…then he’d blend right in! Except that I’m totally kidding (but the story is a true one!)

  11. Posted February 25, 2009 at 6:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    This post is cracking me up for some reason. 🙂 Your line about dressing Jude in solid colors to contrast the bold pattern is just something I would never think about doing. 🙂

    I like the car seat, but I probably wouldn’t register for it. Go for it. Maybe he’ll enjoy looking at the bold pattern for the first part of infant-hood… kiddos love black and white patterns. That’s the social worker in me talking. 🙂

    Along the lines of child development, too… sometimes kiddos spend too much time in the car seat (or other contraption), so their development can be hindered. I think less is best, too. 🙂

  12. Posted February 25, 2009 at 10:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    I like it. And there’s a good chance your little one will be fascinated with it. It looks like a toy and it’s functional and you like it. All positives in my book.

  13. Elizabeth
    Posted February 25, 2009 at 11:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    So, I decided to be boring. I registered for the black car seat. . . but with the hope that I might just make a car seat cover in cow print so that I can take it off if I feel like it’s just too obnoxious. 🙂 I’d call that a good compromise! And I think Jason will be happy to not have a cow printed car seat in his back seat when he has Jude!

  14. Ali
    Posted February 25, 2009 at 12:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve got two of these exact carseats! It was the only print our local shop had and I was desperate and wanted to support a small shop. I actually loved it, and bought another matching one for second child. The two of them in the back of their cow seats was adorable. Also reminded me of Vermont (where I am from) every time I put them in.

  15. Katie Robillard
    Posted February 25, 2009 at 10:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    hey Beth- All the comments are too funny! I drove around with a Britax car seat with the “Cowmooflage” print until Pierce outgrew it. And now I have to say that it makes me a little sad that I don’t look in the backseat and see that ridiculously fun car seat, only a boring black and tan booster. You know me… I am not exactly an animal print girl either but all kids look good in cowmooflage- Can’t wait until we have another baby to bring out that lovely print again 🙂 Curt had a boring denim cover in his car… it’s not too late to change your registry!

  16. Elizabeth
    Posted February 26, 2009 at 10:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    OK Katie, you convinced me! I went ahead and registered for it! 😀 I’m really excited about it now!

  17. Jenn
    Posted February 26, 2009 at 11:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    I like the moo seat too. I’ve seen some in cars and they look so fun and always make me *smile*. If you decided to stay with the solid black, I had a black/grey one and it always got surprisingly HOT when the sun was on it. I went for black for stains reason but second time around, I’m going for a lighter colour.

    Also just a note as no one ever told me, but both my baby babies HATED the sling. I’ve tried all different kinds and the Bjorn works best for me. There is also a new one which I’m going to get for my second called ERGO baby carrier. Have you heard of it? It’s good if you hike and looks like it’s the next phase from a bjorn or certain slings. http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/. I really really love the idea and the whole sling philosophy (and I keep putting my 7 month old)but just so you know, sometimes even a baby has a mind of its own.

  18. Posted February 27, 2009 at 10:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    research whether or not you will need a rear facing car seat. We put aliyah in one of those thinking it would be ok but her head would always slump around so we ended up getting a carrier for that reason and then transitioning into that. I do take her out and put her in the sling too. I think thats the best!!

  19. sharon
    Posted March 1, 2009 at 4:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love it and if you do too after all is said and done…we will buy it for the little guy. I think you can get away with it because it will be in the car!!!

  20. Krista
    Posted March 9, 2009 at 9:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow… so many comments!

    Um, I love the cow print! So fun! It’s not like you are making a dress out of it or something (then I’d have to stage an intervention)

    It reminds me of your old guitar strap too 🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] Britax Roundabout Convertible Carseat – I know people are very fond of those clip in car seats where you can just carry your baby from the car to wherever you’re going, but that makes you have to buy more than one car seat in a very short period of time! We got a car seat that is rated good to use from infant through 35 lbs and it seems more expensive up front, but since you don’t have to buy a new car seat after your baby has grown out of the carrier, I think it ends up saving a lot of money. I know this won’t work for everyone, especially if you’re going to use a stroller system that has a built in carrier, but since we’re going to try life without a stroller, I think it will work for us! […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

