Strawberry Cupcakes

This recipe was taken from a flickr comment, so there’s not really a way to link back to the recipe itself, but I’ll link back to the picture it was taken from! I really really liked the frosting. I especially like that the frosting is such a pretty pink color without any food coloring. The cake. . . let me eat another one tonight and I’ll get back with you. 🙂 I just don’t know that the cake was my ideal cupcake texture. It wasn’t really as light as I would have liked and the top ended up being a little crunchy, which is a weird consistency for a cupcake, maybe more like a muffin. Not a first bad try though for a ‘from scratch’ strawberry cupcake!

strawberry cupcakes
from this picture on flickr

ingredients

cupcakes:
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup strawberry sauce
1/4 cup milk

strawberry sauce:
2 cups of fresh strawberries, cut in half and stem removed
sugar to taste

cream cheese frosting:
8 ounces or 1 package of cream cheese
1/2 stick butter
4 cups sifted powdered sugar
approximately 1/4 cup of strawberry sauce

instructions

cupcakes:
Beat butter on high until soft, about 30 seconds. Add sugar. Beat on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, beat for 30 seconds between each. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Measure out milk and strawberry sauce together. Add about a fourth of the flour to the butter/sugar mixture and beat to combine. Add about one third the milk/strawberry sauce mixture and beat until combined. Repeat above, alternating flour and milk and ending with the flour mixture. Scoop into cupcake papers about half to three-quarters full (depending on whether you want flat or domed cupcakes). Bake for 20-22 minutes at 350F until a cake tester comes out clean.

strawberry sauce:
Macerate strawberries with about 1-2 tbs sugar for 15 minutes. Put strawberries in a small saucepan and heat under medium heat with lid on. Cook strawberries for approximately 15 minutes till strawberries cook down and become soft and saucy. Adjust sweetness with sugar until you get the desired sweetness. Using a hand blender, puree until you get the desired smoothness or chunkiness. Cool before using in recipe.

cream cheese frosting:
Bring cheese and butter to room temperature by letting it sit out for 1 or 2 hours. Sift powdered sugar into a bowl. Beat butter and cheese at medium speed until creamy. Add half of the sugar, beat until combined. Add strawberry sauce until you achieve the right color and flavor, making sure not to add too much or the frosting will be too soft. Gradually add remaining sugar (more if you have to) until you get to the consistency and sweetness you like.


Love this picture!

9 Comments

  1. Posted February 26, 2009 at 9:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    Mmm, these are so yummy!

  2. Posted February 26, 2009 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Interesting…So far I haven’t had a whole lot of luck with ‘from scratch’ cake – they seem to turn out dry.

  3. jownby
    Posted February 26, 2009 at 10:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    I heart cupcakes…a lot. 🙂
    I have not had a lot of luck with from scratch white or yellow cake. Chocolate cake – no problem. The others turn out dry and seem to have a funny taste to them.

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted February 26, 2009 at 10:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Interesting – I’ve made tons of from scratch cakes, white, yellow, chocolate, fruit flavored, without any problems! I’ll have to start posting those recipes! 🙂

  5. Posted February 26, 2009 at 11:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ditto to Beth. My go-to book is the Better Homes & Gardens cookbook. Light, fluffy, and the butter cream icing recipe is delicious.

    One trick that my mom taught me is to never, ever, ever trust the timing that anyone puts in a baking recipe. It’s usually too long, everyone’s oven is different, and it will dry out/burn whatever it is you’re baking. I usually start out by subtracting about 10% of the time, and then go from there. Cakes don’t tend to be too much off, especially since they are large (a few minutes off won’t affect it too much), but cookies are very time-sensitive. If you’re getting dry cakes, I would try seeing if it’s done 5 minutes earlier. If that doesn’t work, I’d try a new recipe. 🙂 Yay for baking! Now I want some cupcakes….

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted February 26, 2009 at 11:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    I agree with Jenn – I think my ovens have traditionally run a little cool, so I haven’t had a problem with over baking them. I usually end up with a jiggly center that needs a couple extra minutes. I’ve made the Better Homes and Gardens cakes too and they have typically turned out really well . . .

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted February 26, 2009 at 11:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh and P.S. the cupcakes weren’t dry, but the tops were crunchy. . . that’s what I thought was weird!

  8. Posted February 26, 2009 at 1:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh this looks so good! And great photo, too! Did you take it or did your husband? Great job!

  9. Elizabeth
    Posted February 26, 2009 at 1:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am completely incapable of operating our camera at this point . . . so Jason gets all the credit for virtually all of the pictures on the blog. 🙂 Unless I borrow a work camera to snap a few pictures here and there!

One Trackback

  1. […] can you tell I’ve been on a dessert kick lately (and there are two more in the queue!)? Can I blame that on the pregnancy (and don’t […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

