ramble ramble ramble . . .

Well, this was a weekend of little to no sewing (minus a bit of ironing to prepare the quilt for it’s next stage and cutting out a few things) but plenty of fun book club, friends and lots of cleaning. Talk about regaining a little sanity! Now I don’t have to be embarrassed when we have guests over that our toilets are. . . not as clean as I would like and cat hair is assaulting everyone’s allergies! I guess the craftiest thing that has happened recently is that I finished up a sling for a co-worker’s cousin (and Malachi just HAD to be in the picture, after all, if you’re doing it, he’s on it):

We have been transitioning to making our own/using non toxic cleaners around the house and I’ve been pretty happy with the results. We typically use Seventh Generation for laundry and dishes (and you can find coupons on their website to help make it more affordable), but lately I have been noticing that our dishes haven’t been coming out clean. Kinda environmentally pointless if you have to wash something twice, right? So I investigated and found good reviews for the Method Smarty Dish (it’s $4.99 at Target) and tried it out. I have to say that it got my dishes substantially cleaner and smelling a lot better too. So yay. Success in that area! I know there’s probably a way to use borax, baking soda and vinegar (as the rinsing agent) for my dish cleaning needs, but my brain has been too busy to take the time to figure and seek all of that out. So until I have some free time, I’ll stick to the Method product for my dishes (and yes, I know, the Method brand sometimes still has questionable chemicals in it, but I haven’t found an over the counter dish washing detergent that doesn’t have questionable ingredients that doesn’t break the bank – Method at least has fewer and is biodegradable. I will, someday, make my own!).

Sunday, we took the day to do some more cleaning, but this time cleaning a street in our community. Our church has ‘adopted’ a street through Keep Austin Beautiful to clean four times a year and this Sunday was the first for this year. I love doing this because not only is it a great environmental thing to do, it brings the people in the church together, gets them outside and serving together! Something special happens when you sacrifice your time and serve alongside people to better others that you don’t even know (in this case the neighborhoods). We ended up picking up 21 bags of trash and 13 bags of recycling (and more Mickey’s bottles than we could count!) and we had a dang good timing doing it!

I’m hoping to have some free time this next weekend (because every evening this week is booked. . . again, but with fun stuff) to get caught up on some projects that I’ve started and haven’t had the opportunity to finish yet. One of them is to clean out our old office and start getting it ready to be a nursery! Oh, the excitement.

4 Comments

  1. JennL
    Posted March 3, 2009 at 9:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey – that is so funny that it’s the Seventh Generation stuff. I just looked under my sink and I have a half filled container because my husband said that I had to quit using it as it was not cleaning the dishes. I also like the Method line but find that it smells too good and so I use more than I should…it also seems to go really fast. Have you heard of Shaklee products? You have to buy through a “distributor”, but I get my stuff online then shipped to me. It lasts forever and the stuff is really really good and you use such a teeny bit of it.

  2. Posted March 3, 2009 at 5:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love Method too! I’ve tried making my own dishwashing soap, but it didn’t work very well. We haven’t tried Seventh Generation, mostly b/c of cost. Method is a great alternative.

    Oh, and I love the slings. You have such a great eye for fabric! And your kitty is cute, too. 🙂

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted March 3, 2009 at 5:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Jenn – I haven’t heard of Shaklee products, where do you buy it online?

    Sheri – Thanks for your sweet compliment on the sling! I can’t take all the credit though because my coworker picked the fabric out of my stash and paired it with the yellow. 🙂 What recipe have you used for making your own dish washing soap?

  4. JennL
    Posted March 4, 2009 at 8:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Your best bet is to check out http://www.shaklee.com, my distributor is Canadian, as that’s where I am. I don’t know her very well having just got a sample of one of their products Basic H2. I could ask her if she could refer though. If you are in the market for a multi purpose spray, check out the basic H2. Depending on how much you squirt in, the concentration lets you use it for a counter spray, to oven top cleaner, to fruit and veg. sanitizer spritzer, many many uses. It’s hard to judge if it’s expensive as its a concentrated product. I would say that I’ve been using my stuff since July/August ish. It’s all good for the earth stuff too and I like it as I can get my daughter to help out in the kitchen, she loves to spray and heck if some gets on the food, it’s not biggie. Oh – I also use it for my cloth diapers too – their laundry that is. Glad to share.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

