Sleeping at Last: Keep No Score

keepnoscorecd So I first heard about Sleeping at Last in Cold Tangerines and I recently revisited her short story, Needle and Thread (which you should read if you haven’t – that’s a pdf link to the short story), which is where that band is mentioned. I looked up the band and listened to samples of their songs, including the one called Needle and Thread. I was sold. I bought the CD and have been thoroughly enjoying their songs since. I would like to buy their first CD, Capture, their second, Ghosts (someday, the CD buying has been severely slowed) and I’m anticipating their new CD that’s coming out this summer. They just have a sound that I love to listen to and their lyrics have a nice amount of depth to them. On top of that, I love their water colored website and CD covers.

I was catching up on the Relevant podcast the other day (which I highly recommend, along with the magazine) and Sleeping at Last performed a couple of songs for them, including Umbrellas. That spurred me to look up the lyrics which promptly made me realize that, although I am not typically a ‘quick to cry’ female (I know, it’s odd, something was left out of my DNA), pregnancy has softened me. I read these lyrics, while at work, mind you, and promptly had to play the ‘stare at the ceiling’ game to keep from crying. When I read these lyrics, I see the journey that Jason and I took to exchange silver rings, prove our love, and bring a child into this world. (When did I get so cheesy? Jeez.) Our hopes for him and what we wish to instill in him is that he is meant for amazing things . . . “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do,” Ephesians 2:10.

Umbrellas

I’ll make you mine if you would have me.
With a silver ring that will hug you tight,
Our life begins.
Our life begins with this.

I’ll prove my love if you would let me.
Over and over and over again.

We’ll bring a child into this world
And we’ll say the one thing
Everyone should hear:

You were meant for amazing things.

Give me your hand, it’s time.
It’s time to show new eyes their home.
When fences divide our land,
I would catch bullets with my bare hands.

Because you were meant for amazing things.

One Comment

  1. Chance
    Posted March 4, 2009 at 3:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m a fan of Sleeping at last although I have yet to actually purchase one of their cds.

One Trackback

  1. By New Music « think liz. on February 5, 2010 at 9:34 am

    […] at Last – Storyboards – Sleeping at Last is definitely becoming one of my favorite bands. Their last album, Keep No Score, was one that I played pretty […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

