A bit of sewing. . .

Ah yes, the quilt. The top of it is all sewn together and I’m pretty happy with the way it’s turning out – although you can tell from the picture that it needs some love from the iron. To finish off the quilt, there’s a particular sewing machine foot that you need to do the stippling. It’s called a free motion foot. And I bought one on discount on etsy . . . and then my cat decided the foot was his new favorite toy and I can’t find it anymore. Ugh. The cat seems to love losing things for me. It could be under the piano, refrigerator, any of the rugs, the stove. . . who knows. I hope it turns up soon or I’m going to have to resort to begging my sewing friends to let me borrow theirs (if they have one). . .

I finally finished up the bibs this weekend too. They are such a quick sew, I don’t know what was taking me so long (oh wait, I remember, I was busy)! They’re from a free pattern found here. There are a bazillion free bib patterns out there and I think I want to try this one out next. . . You can’t have too many bibs, right?

And keeping up with my baby items that are really more useless than useful, I made another softie (with two more in the works that I can’t wait to share!). It’s another free pattern from Wee Wonderfuls. If you make this pattern, make sure you stuff the legs fuller than I did. I thought I had it full enough but the head is a bit top heavy and now my kitty looks like he’s going to pounce instead of standing up straight! I am still debating on adding a nose, mouth, whiskers, etc. . . I really kinda like him the way he is!

I’m also working on making a pattern for the ever popular Boppy. It seems silly for anyone to pay what they’re asking for it when I could easily whip one up on my own. Really, it’s just a u-shaped pillow with a slipcover. If my first attempt goes well, I’ll post the pattern and the picture! I’m sure someone out there could use a free pattern that mimics the Boppy, right?

10 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 8:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    Everything looks so great! I love the quilt and the bibs are so cute…and your cat! I think it looks cute all ready to pounce.

  2. Posted March 10, 2009 at 9:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looking good. 🙂 Your iron is definitely your best friend when you are quilting…it makes everything line up so much better.

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 9:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks ladies! Yeah, the quilt isn’t perfectly lined up everywhere, but it is my first time trying to make a quilt, so I’m trying not to be too hard on myself. I’m also realizing that having some quilters tools could be helpful in my precision. . . in reality, I’m not sure that quilting is for me. Baby quilts may be as far as I go!

  4. Posted March 10, 2009 at 9:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    It all looks great. I highly doubt that you can have too many bibs!

  5. Posted March 10, 2009 at 10:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    Did you back your bibs with chenille? How was it to sew?

    Everything looks great! and cute!

  6. Posted March 10, 2009 at 10:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow. The quilt looks amazing – I’m glad you decided to take out the orangish color. I LOVE the blues and greens. Seriously…too cute! And the bibs too – I love those fabrics. Its gonna be a shame when they’re covered in food and spit. Lol. Guess that’s what washing is for. (:

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 10:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    Jenn – I backed the bibs with terry cloth. I would think that you could just use more cotton or chenille if you wanted! They were really easy to sew. The hardest part is navigating around the curves and keeping the seam allowance narrow at the closure.

    Claire – It is sad that they will be covered in food and spit, but hey, I think these fabrics will hide it well (and wash well)!

  8. kaylebug
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 11:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    I really like the quilt!! It looks awesome! I have made a few quilts, but I want to make one by sewing one square to another and so on. The way I made it before was by taking squares and sewing them to the large piece of fabric that would become the quilt. And the bibs are too cute.
    🙂

  9. Posted March 10, 2009 at 1:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love the quilt…the colors are awesome together. I also love the bibs so thanks for posting the link. The kitty is super cute too.

  10. nickiberthiaume
    Posted March 11, 2009 at 12:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    My kitty had the same problem. I didn’t stuff the front legs enough even though I stuffed so much I thought that the seems would rip. o’well, I guess!

    your things are so sweet though.

One Trackback

  1. […] by Elizabeth Wow. I’m sad to say I haven’t posted anything about sewing since March 10th. Life has just been that busy. I mean, it took a vacation for me to have enough time to finish up […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

