Cantaloupe Sorbet

Well, you can tell my mind is moving towards summer because I’m beginning to bust out my ice cream maker on a weekly basis. I had a half cantaloupe that I didn’t really know what to do with, as I was tired of just eating it as a snack at work. My bright idea? Cantaloupe sorbet! This recipe is a good one for those of you without ice cream makers because you can just follow the instructions in the recipe to get a tasty sorbet. I decided to be lazy and just throw everything in my ice cream maker. You can pretty much apply this concept (fruit + sugar + water + blender+strainer [if needed to removed seeds]) to make sorbet out of any fruit that is just a little too ripe to enjoy fresh.

Although, if I made this again, I would reduce the amount of sugar that it calls for and also add a tablespoon of lemon or lime juice. Overall, though, this is very refreshing! Perfect snack for this warm weather we’re having!

Recipe for Cantaloupe Sorbet

6 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 8:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hmmm…overripe fruit – you know, that’s not really my thing…but I’m glad you’re enjoying this part of spring!

  2. Posted March 10, 2009 at 9:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    I sooooo want to pull out my ice cream maker, but alas this stupid 60 days with no sugar makes that impossible at this moment. This sorbet is inspiring though and I might have to start making a list of everything I want to make once the challenge is over. Ice cream might be second to cinnamon rolls right now though. 🙂

  3. Posted March 10, 2009 at 9:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey, I’ve never made sorbet. I should give it a whirl. Though, it’s still cold here…but heck, I like cold things. Do you use your ice cream maker a lot? I don’t have one and want to evaluate before it takes a stake in my kitchen cabinet – real estate is hot.

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 10:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    Jenn-

    I do make a lot of ice creams, gelato, slushies, sorbets, etc etc. You can even make really great margaritas in this machine! The real estate is limited in my kitchen too, so I figure if I have an item that is taking up space, I better be using it a lot or getting rid of it! This is the one that I own and I like it because the bowl just stays in the freezer until I’m ready to use it. No salt and ice cubes here!

    This is a good recipe to start with for a sorbet because you don’t HAVE to have an ice cream maker to make it. This is another good recipe similar to this one that uses oranges and strawberries.

    I’ve also been looking at the back of ice cream cartons lately and find too many extra ingredients. In my mind, ice cream is cream, milk, eggs, natural flavor (chocolate, strawberry, vanilla bean etc), salt and that’s it. When the list gets longer than that, I just make my own. It never takes long and I know what’s in it!

    One thing that I’m finding is that if you add a little bit of alcohol (vodka, rum, tequila. . .whatever floats your boat) to your sorbet or gelato (1 tbsp or so) it won’t freeze up so densely and it will scoop much easier!

    Good luck on your ice cream adventures!

  5. Posted March 10, 2009 at 10:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    so funny that you posted this, i just thinking yesterday, i wonder if i could make a sorbet or sherbet out of cantaloupe! i am going to try this one out, thanks!

  6. Posted March 11, 2009 at 10:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    OMG! that sounds sooooo goooood.

One Trackback

  1. […] can you tell I’ve been on a dessert kick lately (and there are two more in the queue!)? Can I blame that on the pregnancy (and don’t say that […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

