Pizza Pouches

They are essentially non processed hot-pockets – which I would imagine kids would just love. But you know what, I kinda love little portable pouches with meatballs, cheese and pizza sauce all wrapped in pizza dough too. 🙂 I had made a double batch of pizza dough last Friday to freeze (I use half unbromanated unbleached white flour and half whole wheat flour and this recipe to make my pizza dough) and happened to stumble across this recipe which fills the need for a quick meal during the week. I ended up being able to make 8 (not 6 like the recipe says) and froze half of them to use later on in the week. I also made my own meatballs because. . . well, we have a lot of ground beef and I wanted use the extras to make meatball subs! I think these would be a huge crowd pleaser during parties and you could stuff them with a variety of pizza fillings. . . they remind me a little bit of the versatility of empanadas but without the flaky pastry dough. Definitely a good recipe/concept if you have picky eater kiddos!

Recipe for Pizza Pouches

2 Comments

  1. kaylebug
    Posted March 12, 2009 at 11:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those look quite tasty! I am a fan of pizza pockets and calzones.
    🙂

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted March 12, 2009 at 1:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ooooh calzones! Thanks Kayle for giving me the final usage of the last pizza crust I have! Brilliant!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

