Blueberry Crumb Bars

I remember when I first saw the pictures of these bars on Smitten Kitchen’s blog. I wanted to leave work immediately and make them (I feel like that a lot when reading her blog). Well, I forgot about them for a time until the other day when I was hunting for blueberry muffin recipes. I quickly decided that I didn’t need to make blueberry muffins any longer because these were just too appealing. Now, the intent was to make these to be a quick breakfast item. . . turns out these are more like a combination of a dessert cookie/cobbler. But oh how delicious they are (and I might still eat them as a breakfast item, but shh don’t tell)! The base and topping (which are the same) are a bit like a simplified shortbread (which you all know I adore) and the inside is just gooey,  tart and delicious.

I really think that Smitten Kitchen’s addition of lemon juice and zest elevate this recipe past it’s first incarnation on all recipes. I used frozen blueberries and since frozen blueberries get a little juicy when they thaw, I used a slotted spoon to allow most of the excess juice to stay in the bowl. This recipe is super quick and easy but it looks so impressive. . . I highly recommend you trying it out! Definitely eat them quickly, or if you can bear it, share them with friends, family and coworkers. They keep nicely for a few days in the refrigerator but after several days, they do begin to get a little soggy. . .

Recipe for Blueberry Crumb Bars

3 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted March 16, 2009 at 8:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    It looks good, but I’ve never been a really big blueberry fan…I’m glad you enjoyed them so much!

  2. Posted March 16, 2009 at 12:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yum. This is definitely getting added to my recipe book. 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 17, 2009 at 12:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I think you would love it!

One Trackback

  1. […] muffins, breakfast, muffins, recipe, Recipes by Elizabeth So after making those delicious blueberry bars, I decided to try and make a more breakfast-y item by making some blueberry muffins. I love baking […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

