Braciole

Mom, you would be proud. I remember having this occasionally as a special occasion dinner and since we purchased that cow, I knew I was going to have to try my hand at it. Most people have never heard of Braciole before (pronounced bra’zhul) but that’s the benefit of being raised with a true NY Italian mom. A lot of things I ate growing up weren’t so common in Texas. Heck, we pronounced mozzarella and ricotta differently than everyone else in the region. I got self conscious of that really quickly when I would explain to friends what we were eating for dinner. 🙂

The piece of steak I used from our beef stash was a ‘top round’ which was already pre-tenderized for me. I pounded it a little bit thinner before filling it with the breadcrumb and cheese mixture. I used parmesan and mozzarella instead of provolone and pecorino romano since that’s what I had on hand and it turned out pretty amazing. Really, you could stuff it with anything. When I was layering the breadcrumb mixture, it almost felt like too much, but it wasn’t so don’t skimp! Make sure to tie it up tight with butchers twine – that’s part of what makes this dish pretty to serve to company. I cheated and used jarred tomato sauce (the spicy roasted red pepper tomato sauce from HEB, it has no HFCS!) and it turned out great. Really, it’s difficult to mess this dish up – the elements of it are so simple.

Is there a traditional dish that you grew up eating that no one else typically ate?

Recipe for Braciole


(Another great picture from Jason! I love it!)

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 18, 2009 at 9:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    I grew up with German potato salad that my grandmother used to make. Most people don’t like it because of all the vinegar, but it’s probably why I like sour foods so much now!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 18, 2009 at 9:56 am | Permalink | Reply

      Mmm that sounds good! I love vinegar and sour foods!

      • Posted March 18, 2009 at 10:07 am | Permalink | Reply

        I don’t even have the recipe for some reason. I’ll get it from my mom and forward it to you. Since that side of my family is German, I’m pretty sure it’s authentic. And vinegar-y. Yum.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

