Oh Lisa.

So, I did a review of Lisa Hannigan’s debut solo CD Sea Sew awhile back, and then I found out she was going to be at South by Southwest (SXSW). And then I found out, not only is she going to be at SXSW, she was going to play a free show during lunch today.

I was very happy about this.

So, Mindy obliged my crazy request to take our lunch hour to venture downtown into the SXSW madness and try to catch Lisa in concert. And, although they moved the show from 12:35 to 12:10 (so sad!) we still got to hear a couple of songs and listen just a couple feet away from her on the sidewalk (the bar was at capacity). I love living in Austin for exactly this reason. I mean, where else can you hop over to a pub during lunch and hear a free show from a fairly well known musician?

I think I may have a little girl crush on Lisa now. She sounds exactly the same in person as she does on her CD and to me that’s the mark of a great musician. And come on, I mean, she played a blow keyboard! When was the last time you saw one of those?

img_0936_crop

And her band played a bunch of fun other random instruments. Like the hand organ. See it with the red mushroom on it?

img_0940_crop1

What a good lunch break!

One Comment

  1. cooperella
    Posted March 23, 2009 at 8:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    wow, you got some great pictures of her! i love the blow keyboard – great shot!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

