Blueberry Muffins

So after making those delicious blueberry bars, I decided to try and make a more breakfast-y item by making some blueberry muffins. I love baking something on Sunday so that we have a quick and yummy breakfast during the week that we can grab and go, or sit and enjoy. . . I really enjoyed the addition of lemon zest to the muffins – it just brought out the flavor of the blueberries and made the muffins taste so fresh! I did a little sprinkling of turbinado sugar on the top of the batter to give a little bit of crunch when you bit into the muffin – the muffins themselves aren’t very sweet and benefited from this addition. They didn’t bake up near as high as I expected, so you don’t really have to worry about overfilling the tins like you do with cupcakes. From the recipe, I was under the impression that it would only yield 12 muffins but it probably yielded more like 24 muffins – I filled a mini muffin pan in addition to the normal muffin pan and still had a bit of batter left over. Eat these quickly though, because they dry out after about 4 days even if stored in an air tight container!

Recipe for Blueberry Muffins

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

