Happy Third Trimester

Jeez. And here we are for the home stretch. Month 7. 28 Weeks. The third trimester. It’s pretty surreal that it’s here already. I still have moments where I can’t believe that I am having a baby. Oh wait, that was a kick I just felt. Me? A mom? Now? Ready or not . . .

And with the third trimester comes the beginning of the baby showers! I’ve been really floored by the amount of people that have asked to throw/help throw a baby shower for me – it has really meant a lot to me that people want to help us get prepared for baby Jude.

What also seems to come with the third trimester is rapid weight gain. I wasn’t really ready when my OB/GYN walked into my last appointment and told me I had gained too much weight! Not something you want to hear! Now, I had noticed that my belly had grown substantially in what felt like a couple days (and quite a few people commented on it, so it wasn’t a figment of my imagination), but I haven’t noticed weight gain anywhere else so I’m not really sure how to take her news. I am hungry frequently and try to eat fruits, veggies and other healthy foods (and no fast food, HFCS, processed foods, etc), but I’ll admit, I will eat a bowl of ice cream or have a root beet float and if you read my blog regularly you’ve seen the baked goods I’ve been making. . . Hmph. All I know is that it hit my pride and I felt a little mad/depressed. I’m not sure how it’s going to happen, but I feel like I need to increase the amount of exercise I’m getting. It just feels impossible when we get up at 7am, work, go straight to our extra curriculars and don’t get a break until we go back to bed at 10pm. We still aren’t watching TV, and I haven’t missed it one bit, but that might be because I really don’t have the time available to miss it!

My OB/GYN appointments are now every two weeks (yikes!) and we’ve arranged to have birthing classes through our doula since our schedule didn’t allow for birthing classes through the hospital or doctors, we’ve begun to think about our birthing plan, toured the hospital’s maternity wing (and are now very at ease with our choice in hospital, yay), and Jude’s room is quickly getting completed. It feels like everything is set in motion for the arrival of our son.

I still feel like I’m sorting through a lot of emotions (all through the veil of fatigue – don’t remind me that sleepiness gets worse after the baby, please?) and I am so grateful that Jason and I have a little getaway planned for the end of April. It’s literally the last weekend that I can travel more than an hour away from the hospital I’m delivering at (crazy, right?). I am so grateful to our friends that are letting us use their lake house for those couple of days because I just don’t think that it would be wise for us to spend money on a hotel or airplane travel at this point. Even if we took a ‘stay-cation’ I would find something to do around the house and not relax. . . I just think it’s going to be a precious bit of time for Jason and I to sit and reflect on our relationship, our upcoming role as parents, our spiritual lives and just a time to relax a little . . . Oh, I just can’t wait!

10 Comments

  1. Posted March 26, 2009 at 1:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s such a beautiful picture! Well, I know nothing of how much you’re supposed to weigh, but I was just thinking when I saw you last week that it looks like you haven’t gained weight anywhere other than the little ball over your stomach! So I say boo to your ob/gyn!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 26, 2009 at 1:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Ellie. For my height and pre-pregnancy weight, I’m supposed to gain 30-35 lbs. And I’m almost there. . . 😦

  2. blindfaith73
    Posted March 26, 2009 at 2:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Congratulations

  3. Posted March 26, 2009 at 7:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What? You look amazing, in my opinion. I feel huge, and though I haven’t gained as much as weight as I did with Eden, my stomach is certainly more pronounced.

    I went to the OB yesterday, and had a different doc than my usual one. He asked how I was feeling and I said, “Huge.” And he said, “Well you’re just going to get bigger.”

    Thanks. That did not make me feel better. 🙂

    Don’t worry about the weight gain, though. You’re being healthy and that’s more important than numbers.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 27, 2009 at 9:50 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you Sheri! It’s amazing how people know exactly what NOT to say to a pregnant women. . . (and your OB should know better! but I guess he is a man. . . ) usually in reference to your size, future sleep to be lost, pain in labor or ‘just wait’ words of wisdom.

      Oh the things you learn being pregnant. 🙂

  4. Posted March 26, 2009 at 7:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ditto to Ellie. Maybe Jude is gonna come out weighing a ton. 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 27, 2009 at 9:42 am | Permalink | Reply

      Oh gosh, for my sake, I hope not! Normal size baby, please! I am going for a natural birth after all . . .

  5. Rebecca
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 5:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well I hope that little Jude will be just as wonderful for you as my daughter Hayley was for me… 1st week, would only let out a whimper once a night for a feeding…after the 1st week, she slept through the night in her own crib in her nursery!!! Talk about total heaven! She slept from 6pm to 6am! We were so lucky and blessed!!!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 7, 2009 at 6:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

      That sounds amazing . . . my mom said I slept through the night the first night I was home and Jason’s mom said he was a great baby . . . so here’s to hoping!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

