Dallas Baby Shower

Goodness, where to begin. . . my mom, mother-in-law, and good friend Jenn got together and planned a baby shower for me and baby Jude this past Saturday and it was amazing. My aunt and uncle flew in from Florida as a bonus surprise which just topped off the greatness of the weekend!

As with any event my mom helps throw, there was plenty of delicious food:

And I thought this was just such a fun idea. . . since we’re not doing disposable diapers, Dawn (my amazing mother-in-law) made us a diaper cake with the inserts of the gDiapers! There were so many great things stuffed inside the diaper cake, baby clothes, the Bum Genius diapers, a bottle of wine (yeah, that’s for me and Jason, not Jude!), great toys . . .  it was amazing how much time, effort and energy was spent putting this thing together! Look how cute the little lamb is on the top of the cake – it even has Jude’s name on it!

And my Mom made up this cute little game that she called the ‘Wishing Well Game’. She had each people that came to the shower bring a small baby related item and attach a clue to it. Then I had to draw each item out of the well and guess who it was from based on the clue! Then I got to take the blue bin home to use as toy storage for all the cute items that were brought. I thought this was a great idea for a shower game!

And Jenn made these great party favors! What a sweet idea to make little seed packets to hand out to all the guests (she even has the template on her blog if you’re interested in making some for yourself!). Here’s her blog entry about making these particular favors!

baby-shower-favors1

And I don’t have any pictures of the gift opening time but we were so blessed by all of the items that we received from everyone. Thank you to everyone who helped plan it and participated in it! For more pictures, click the link to my flickr at the top of the page.

5 Comments

  1. Posted March 31, 2009 at 8:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! It looks like it was a really fun time!

  2. Posted March 31, 2009 at 1:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m glad you had fun! I enjoyed helping planning it. 🙂

  3. Posted March 31, 2009 at 3:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    that diaper cake sounds impressive! sad i had to miss the shower though!

  4. Posted March 31, 2009 at 8:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yeaaa for baby showers! Thanks for sharing those pics and the neat game idea!

  5. Lindsey
    Posted April 1, 2009 at 11:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    I wish we were there to share all the fun with you and Jason, but I enjoy keeping up with your blog! We’ll definitely be praying for you two…

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] caved and bought a hairdryer. When we were in Dallas for my baby shower, I used a hair dryer and realized how much I missed it. I did try to find a more eco friendly […]

  2. […] all been washed in their special laundry detergent. The origami fish with the well wishes from the Dallas shower are hanging in the window. The room is pretty much done (minus a couple of inexpensive Ikea stools […]

  3. […] it was incredibly beautiful but simple and could be a cheap option for a kids mobile. For my Dallas baby shower, the guests wrote notes to Jude on origami squares that were then folded into goldfish (click here […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

