7 Months

  • Jude is getting the hiccups almost daily (which I’ve been told is a sign of ‘fetal well-being’). It feels like a twitch that you can’t get rid of.
  • I still have my belly button as an innie. Yay! I wonder if it will last until Jude’s born.
  • I’m finding there is nothing like posting a pregnant picture of yourself on facebook for a pick-me-up when we’re not feeling ‘cute and pregnant’ – which is pretty much, well, never (people must always be monitoring those feeds!).
  • I’m starting to feel what 25 extra pounds around your belly does to your back (time for a chiropractor visit and some more yoga).
  • My energy level has plummeted back to first trimester levels but that might be partly due to our schedule.
  • I won’t be wearing pink again during this pregnancy. Feeling like a pink Easter egg for a day does some damage to your self image. Solids, darks and neutrals from here on out.
  • I am having to STRONGLY resist the urge to buy more maternity clothes since things are beginning to fit even more poorly than before. I just have to live with the fact that I’m wearing the same outfits almost every week.
  • Sitting on the floor is no longer a good option for me. Not because it’s uncomfortable, but because it is difficult to get up from there.
  • I have the weird sensation of not knowing I have to pee until I stand up. Not so pleasant!
  • Being cold is a much less frequent occurrence than it used to be. Apparently, being pregnant makes you hot all the time.
  • Belly sitting on thighs and boobs sitting on belly are definitely not sensations I ever wanted to feel. And it feels as odd as it sounds.
  • I’m pretty excited because I’m getting belly henna (also known as a ‘belly blessing’) on Friday! I’m sure Jason will take plenty of pictures. 🙂
  • And a question for you recent mom’s out there – I am clueless on nursing bras – anyone have any thoughts/recommendations? Anything else that was necessary to have post baby that you didn’t think of? I’ve already heard Lily Padz for reusable nursing pads and a few balms to sooth sensitive areas. . .


(The picture is legitimately 7 months even if this post is about a week late! We have to have similar pictures to compare once this is all over – let me tell you, they look crazy all lined up next to each other. . . )

10 Comments

  1. Posted April 2, 2009 at 8:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Turns out, today my friend, Abby, who is pregnant with her second posted a list of things that she was really glad she had or though was a waste of money. You can check it out here http://nateandabbyclark.blogspot.com/2009/04/things-for-baby.html

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 2, 2009 at 8:39 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Ellie!

  2. Posted April 2, 2009 at 12:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I still can’t believe that you can feel him hiccup. Crazy!

  3. Katie
    Posted April 2, 2009 at 12:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Just so you know, even though your posts state the damage to your self image…I still think you’re the best looking pregnant woman I have ever seen! I guarantee when I reach that point in my life, I’ll have the gestational diabetes, acne, varicose veins…and the dreaded outtie belly button! You look wonderful and I miss seeing you guys…work has been crazy needless to say and I feel very low-energy these days. I have forgotten you though…promise! LOVE YOU!!

    • Katie
      Posted April 2, 2009 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Ugh…I’m a terrible friend…I meant “I have NOT forgotten you.” Geez, makes me looks like a terrible friend……….:P

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 3, 2009 at 9:51 am | Permalink | Reply

      🙂 I knew what you meant! We miss you and love you just the same!

  4. Posted April 2, 2009 at 10:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t know if you remember me but I met you at the after eve conference…I saw you through Krista’s blog and I am 8 months pregnant…I just had to comment because I am experiencing so many of those things as well so it is nice to know that you are not alone….you look great pregnant by the way.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 3, 2009 at 9:55 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Michelle – it is always good to know that you’re not alone. 🙂

  5. Posted April 3, 2009 at 9:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my gosh! I’m so jealous over the belly henna! Can’t wait to see pictures.

    And ditto on all of those experiences… 🙂

  6. Posted April 4, 2009 at 8:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Elizabeth,

    I really liked the Bravado bras. You can see them at http://www.bravadodesigns.com/. You’ll need what they call a “sleeping bra” for the first many months and then after you stop breastfeeding or I think it might be 5-6 months they it’s safe to wear an underwire type nursing bra. The bras do tend to be expensive and at least here, they are non-refundable, so make sure you try them on – for size and comfort. Also, expect to grow at least 1 cup size or even 2 from what you are – so maybe just get one initially and then get a few more later. I would definietly get the type that has a clasp on the back, like a normal bra and not so many of the sportbra over your head type – as it’s actually very hard to remove put on ( at least that is what I found).

    I nursed until about 6-7 months for both my babies and found that I needed at least 4 bras – but then I don’t do laundry as often. Since you wear them 24 hours, and they do get dirty from “stuff” – you need a few one hand.

    Good luck with your search.

    BTW – you look so glowing now…and you look great. Don’t worry, the weight drops off quickly if you take care of yourself..and nursing helps too.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

