Cracked-Wheat Top Knots

I’ve had this issue of Gourmet just sitting around waiting for me to bake all of the amazing rolls for a couple months now (the Parmesan pull apart rolls are next on my list from that issue). Sadly it takes 5.5 hours (yes 5.5!) to make the rolls I most wanted to make (well, that I had the ingredients on hand for) and that sort of time is not quite available to me right now. So, to get around this, I made the dough one night, refrigerated it and then shaped the dough another night and baked it. These rolls are reminiscent of pretzels but don’t have quite the same texture. I know most people don’t have bulgar wheat just lying around (although, I do) but you can typically find it in bulk bins and it loans a nutty taste and nice texture to the rolls. These are definitely a good snacking rolls or dinner rolls and I mean, come on, look how cute they are! Don’t you want to make them?

Recipe for Cracked-Wheat Top Knots

4 Comments

  1. Posted April 6, 2009 at 8:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those look really good. I really wanted to make one of the breads from that issue but I just never got around to it! I think making bread is kind of fun, but you’re right, it’s so time consuming!

  2. Posted April 6, 2009 at 8:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    I made the parmesan pull-aparts for Valentine’s Day… I was a bit disappointed because Rick said they tasted like Saltines. Maybe more parmesan would do the trick, I’m not sure. Good luck with your batch when you get around to it!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 6, 2009 at 8:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Oh, that’s really sad! I wouldn’t expect them to taste like saltines!

  3. Posted April 8, 2009 at 5:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    These look so yummy…

    Great shot, by the way. 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

