Belly Blessing

I’m not really sure where I originally heard about having a belly blessing done, but I saw some pictures and thought, what a beautiful way to celebrate being pregnant by decorating your belly. Now there’s a part of me that really wants to show off this beautiful pattern on my stomach that is typically covered all the time!

Here are some of the photos of the process of the mehndi being applied:

The henna artist that did this is Anju Garg, of Mehndi Time, here in Austin. I could not get over her skill level – she does incredible intricate work with the highest quality henna and great instructions on how to get the best application of the henna. Did you know that if you apply lemon juice mixed with sugar to the paste after it dries, it will re-wet and continue to stain for a longer amount of time so you get better, longer lasting color? Yeah, me either. I was always anxious to pull the paste off as soon as it was dry to see what the stain ended up looking like!

This is what the finished product looked like once the henna paste was applied:

And this is what the finished product looks like now that the paste is removed and 48 hours had gone by to allow for the darkest color:

And my friend Krista went with me and got this amazing peacock on her left foot (picture shows the paste still applied):

Pretty amazing what you can do with a little bit of henna paste!

7 Comments

  1. kaylebug
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 10:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    A friend of mine in high school had henna tattoos on her arms frequently. She drew a few on mine- it was pretty cool. I have always wanted to get a “belly blessing” when I am pregnant (not anytime soon obviously. haha.).

  2. Posted April 7, 2009 at 12:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is really really cool – I’ve never heard of this, much less seen anything like it…but henna is gorgeous – and yours is incredibly detailed! Love it! How long does it last?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 7, 2009 at 12:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

      15 days is what I was told, but I’m not sure if that means it’s vivid for 15 days (it still looks amazing 4 days later) or if it is completely gone at day 15. I’m leaning towards it’s no longer vivid at day 15.

      I’m telling you, Anju was an amazing artist! She just free handed all of that and in no time at all! I can’t recommend her enough!

  3. Posted April 7, 2009 at 2:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That is amazing!!!!!

  4. Posted April 7, 2009 at 5:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    beth – this is really neat – the end product looks like lace. my mom had her hands done at an indian wedding last summer and it lasted almost 3 weeks.

  5. Sarah
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 10:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, I’ve never heard of this before either, but it’s beautiful. I’ll have to look into it one day! 🙂

  6. Posted April 10, 2009 at 9:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    That is so beautiful! I hove henna, especially when it’s that intricate and gorgeous! That baby is hella blessed!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

