Raspberry Frozen Yogurt

I like to make my own frozen treats since so many commercial ice creams contain really weird ingredients that I don’t want to eat. . . high fructose corn syrup, weird additives, fake flavoring agents. . . it’s much safer if I just make it myself! 🙂

Since we had finished off some of the last batches of frozen goodies I had whipped up, I decided it was high time for me to try out a frozen yogurt recipe (with a little help from an article that Amanda sent me) so I found a recipe that seemed quick, delicious and easy and set to work. It turned out incredible! What an amazing alternative to ice cream! Really, all that was in this recipe was fat-free yogurt, milk, berry puree (I had a bag of frozen mixed berries instead of just raspberries), sugar and I added about a tablespoon of lemon juice. I don’t know if I could see myself using this base for anything besides fruity flavors but I guess it wouldn’t hurt to experiment with it at some point. And again, this is the ice cream maker that I have and I really like it! So, if you have an ice cream maker and you’re looking for a low cal version of ice cream that isn’t sorbet, I would say this is a good bet!

Recipe for Raspberry Frozen Yogurt

7 Comments

  1. Posted April 7, 2009 at 8:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    It looks so tasty!

  2. Posted April 7, 2009 at 8:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am SO looking forward to pulling my machine back out after this whole sugar challenge is over…

  3. Shelley
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 9:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    I found your ice cream maker on Amazon for about 40% off… $48. Is that a good price? I’m always getting Breyers all natural when I do get ice cream. This looks fabulous! I’d love to make something other than “banilla”, as my niece says.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 7, 2009 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

      I think that’s about what my parents paid for it – they got it at crate and barrel as a surprise gift the Christmas after Jason and I got married (it was on our registry)!

      I’ve been getting Breyers all natural as well when I do buy at the store. Interestingly, Haagen dazs has a new line out called ‘5’ that is touting that it only has five ingredients, milk, cream, egg yolk, sugar and natural flavor. Of course it’s overpriced compared to what you can make at home, but at least there is more than one option out there now! I was really disappointed when I saw that Blue Bell was a victim of High Fructose Corn Syrup. . . I want to eat them since Brenham is only a couple hours away and I’ve been to the Blue Bell Creamery! They’re fairly local but that doesn’t mean that they use the ingredients I want to eat. 😦

  4. Shelley
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 9:05 am | Permalink | Reply

  5. Rebecca
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 5:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have the same Cuisinart and it is wonderful! We usually never buy ice cream from the store anymore… Ice cream made at home just tastes so pure and fresh… I have to recommend the ‘Ben n Jerry’s Homemade Ice Cream & Dessert Book’! It’s such a nice way to recreate all their yummy flavors at home!!!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 7, 2009 at 5:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Ooo that sounds really good – I didn’t realize they had a recipe book! I love making ice cream . . .

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

