Austin Baby Shower

Lots of baby posts this week . . . I guess that’s how you can tell that we’re really starting to get ready for Jude showing up! This past Sunday, my wonderful friend Beka threw me a baby shower!

Lots of good food and treats (I really want the recipe for that curried chicken salad – it was so yummy!):

And we had so much fun decorating onesies with fabric markers! Such a fun alternative to some of those really silly games that are out there (candy bar in the diaper, anyone? eww)! I am going to have to make sure to take a picture of Jude in each and every one of these onesies so my friends can see him in their creations:

And the lovely girls that blessed me with their friendship, support, gifts, kind words, encouragement . . . where would I be without them?

Thanks everyone for making Sunday such a fun and special day for me (and Jude and Jason)!

Eventually, once I’ve sorted through everything, I want to take some pictures of some of the handmade items I’ve received – I have some really talented friends and want to show off their fantastic creations!

6 Comments

  1. Posted April 8, 2009 at 10:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    It was a fun shower! (and if you do get the recipe for the curried chicken, you have to pass it on!). I was just reading the chapter “Baby Making” in Cold Tangerines this morning and it made me think of you carrying little Jude around with you and how soon he’ll be here and we’re all so excited to meet him!

  2. jownby
    Posted April 8, 2009 at 10:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    Were the chinese take-out containers favors? Very cute. What was in them?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 8, 2009 at 11:14 am | Permalink | Reply

      They were mini take-out containers and filled with candy! I thought it was such a cute idea!

  3. Posted April 8, 2009 at 10:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    I loved decorating the onesies!

  4. Posted April 8, 2009 at 4:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I LOVE the onesie decorating idea!!! A friend and I are throwing a baby shower in a few months for a mutual friend (who also enjoys reading your blog) and we love this idea and definitely want to do it for her. Could you send my email address to the person who threw this shower for you? I’d love to have her contact me and get the entire idea… we’d love to replicate this! (Like did you use any stencils or were the people really that great at drawing? Were they large fabric markers and where did you get them?… that sort of stuff.)

    Thanks!!!! 🙂 Glad it was such a blessing to you!

  5. Posted April 9, 2009 at 4:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m gonna ditto Rochelle, I think. Lol. What a great idea!

    I’m so sorry I wasn’t able to make it… ): Robert Adam Ray (pretty sure you remember him) and his wife Casey were in town visiting… I’m sure you understand. Looks like y’all had a lot of fun though. (: Love it!

One Trackback

  1. […] A couple people wanted the recipe for the curried chicken salad that my friend Beka made at my baby shower a while back. She passed it on and I made it a couple weekends ago and ate it throughout the week. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

