PaperBackSwap

Happy late Easter everyone! It was a crazy weekend full of friends and good times here . . . but more about that in future posts. 🙂

Back when we started up the book club, we found this PaperBackSwap concept pretty interesting (it’s actually on our links). None of us signed up for it initially though. That is, until Amanda wrote about it the other day and it renewed my interest in it. I decided to go ahead and take the plunge and try it out. I listed my 10 books, got 2 book credits for free and instantly started getting requests for my books to be swapped. This spurred a bit of an addiction. I swept our house looking for books I was willing to part with to list on the website! Sadly, they do not allow you to list any books with highlighting or underlining, which ruled out a few of my options. The books also don’t have to be paperback, they can be hard cover or audio books (which you get two credits for).

This service is completely free except for the postage which you can choose to do yourself at the post office or use their postage program that will print out the postage needed for the book on the wrapper that you mail the book from. For saving time and being more efficient with mailing out the books, I decided to go with the postage printed on the book wrapper, even though it’s $.27 more expensive. 🙂

I have now received 5 books and sent off 6 books with great success. I particularly like that you can add books to the ‘wish list’ so that you get in line to receive a book once it’s posted. This allowed me to get in line for some books on there that are popular and therefore do not stay listed long.

The thing that I like the most about this whole system is that you are getting a book for book trade, unlike taking your books to sell at Half Price Books where they give you a very small percentage of what the book is actually worth. I know Half Price gives you cash, but usually I just go and spend that cash on books again, spending additional on top of whatever I just received. If you’re a reader, I definitely recommend trying this site out! My ‘nickname’ is elizabethcarroll, if you want to use my name as a referral (ok – so it turns out that I get a book credit for everyone that lists me as a referral – so please, if you sign up after learning about this from me, list my nickname)!

10 Comments

  1. Posted April 13, 2009 at 9:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    You actually do get a free book credit for everyone who marks you as a referral and lists 10 books! 🙂

    I finally went through and scoured my shelves for more books — I have about a shelf and a half worth to post up on my list. Now I just have to find the time to do it!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 13, 2009 at 9:16 am | Permalink | Reply

      Holy moly! I didn’t know that you got credits for referrals! I’m glad I listed you as my referral then. 🙂

  2. Posted April 13, 2009 at 10:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    I haven’t used PaperBackSwap, but I’ve been a member of Bookmooch for a while now. I think the concept’s pretty much the same. It’s a lot of fun, and I’ve gotten a ton of books from it!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 13, 2009 at 10:41 am | Permalink | Reply

      I just heard about Bookmooch today! I’m glad that there are book swap websites out there . . . it’s so much cheaper for the avid reader and it’s great because the books are getting reused. I’ve always tried to pass on my books to other people to read but this is so much better!

  3. Posted April 13, 2009 at 10:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    I thought a lot about doing this after Amanda posted, but then decided that I think I’m just going to take them over to 1/2 Price because the whole point (for me anyway) of getting rid of these books is so that I have less books! It’s something I’ll definitely keep in mind for the future (although I tend to write in my books, so I don’t know that I’d have very many to sell anyway!)

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 13, 2009 at 10:37 am | Permalink | Reply

      You could just have the credits available to you for your use and not order any books! Then you could just put book club books on your wish list . . . I’m sitting on a couple credits right now because I don’t need to have a whole bunch of books just sitting around my house right now either! 🙂

  4. Posted April 13, 2009 at 11:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks Beth for the great post. I put you as my referral and just signed up. I also discovered I’m something of a book hoarder because I’m looking at 20 plus books I could post right now. My new goal is to get the complete set of the chronicles of Narnia.

  5. Posted April 14, 2009 at 1:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    FYI… check out “box-o-books” on PaperbackSwap! You swap books w/out the credit system… and allows you to ship multiple books @ once. Great for making 2,3, even 4:1 deals. enjoy!

  6. Posted June 10, 2009 at 2:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m glad I found you! I will give you my referral.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 11, 2009 at 4:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you!

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] our book club was considering reading. It sparked my interest enough that it was one of the two books that I got for free after posting 10 books to swap on paperbackswap.com. I really wanted to like this book, I really […]

  2. […] May 7 tags: book, book review, Books, Gathering Blue, Lois Lowry by Elizabeth Paperbackswap.com allowed me to go ahead and get the second book in the trio that follows The Giver, which is Lois Lowry’s […]

  3. By Books I’ve read lately « think liz. on April 27, 2010 at 10:46 am

    […] what happened to them. Interesting, but not interesting enough to keep. This one is getting put on paperbackswap to free up room on my bookshelf. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

