Perfect Pancakes

I know I’ve written about Whole Wheat Pancakes, which are good in a stick to your ribs, get you through the morning without being hungry sort of way, but recently, I was looking for light, fluffy, restaurant style pancakes (that doesn’t come out of a package – stay away processed foods!). Ellie wrote about this one awhile back and I have to agree with her, these are definitely restaurant style and pretty much perfect. I had already made these pancakes for a movie night in with a friend and deemed them worthy of consumption for Easter morning. And yes, those are mimosas next to the plates. 🙂 I sliced up some strawberries and sprinkled them with about a 1/2 tbsp on sugar and a drizzle of lemon juice and let them sit while I griddled up the pancakes. Topped with freshly whipped cream it was all pretty amazing. Not much need for syrup and butter. And I have to say, I love my kitchen aid mixer. Whipped egg whites and whipped cream in one morning. Fantastic.

One clarification to the recipe though – 1/2 + 1/3 all purpose flour is in cups of flour. . . just in case you were wondering!

Recipe for The Perfect Pancakes

5 Comments

  1. Posted April 14, 2009 at 8:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    That is one of the most beautiful breakfasts I have ever seen! I love pancakes…and after a wedding I went to last week, it has been confirmed that mimosas are may favorite drink! It looks and sounds absolutely delicious!

  2. kaylebug
    Posted April 14, 2009 at 10:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those pancakes look so yummy! The strawberries are just icing on the cake!
    🙂

  3. Posted April 14, 2009 at 11:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks yummy. What kind of flour do you use to avoid using a processed food?

    • Posted April 14, 2009 at 11:31 am | Permalink | Reply

      Bob’s Red Mill, unbleached, unbromated white flour. It’s more expensive, but I figure we’re getting a better nutritional value out of what I use it in so it’s worth it.

  4. jownby
    Posted April 15, 2009 at 1:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks great!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

