Media Fast

Alright, I’m going to be taking a blogging break for about a week, so to all you regulars – I’m sorry I won’t be posting! I’ll be back soon enough with lots of great stuff to talk about. 🙂

As you might know, Jason and I haven’t really watched TV for the past month or so. It has been so relieving. The voice of the media bombarding us with the ‘newest’, ‘latest’, ‘greatest’, ‘most tragic’, etc. has been mostly silenced and I don’t feel like I’m missing anything. There is a greater sense of peace and communication in our house even with an increasingly busy schedule. So for a week, we are going to silence a few of our technological distractions,  which for me are blogging and facebook. The heart of this is to take the time I would be using for blogging or facebook and redirect it to clear away some of the noise and clutter in my brain and refocus and meditate on God.

I’m excited to share what I learn from this experiment of trying to be quiet.  See everyone in about a week!

4 Comments

  1. Posted April 16, 2009 at 10:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can tell you from my experience that taking a break from some of the technological distractions we have around us is quite refreshing! Have a marvelous break and connection with God!

  2. Maris
    Posted April 17, 2009 at 10:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You’re so smart! I can’t go half a day without internet. Good luck with the experiment!

  3. Posted April 20, 2009 at 5:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    great idea, Beth… everyone needs (and deserves) a break from time to time. I think you’ll find that there are a lot of minutes to be reclaimed in the day, and I’m sure you’ll find really rewarding ways to put them to use. 🙂

  4. Posted April 20, 2009 at 9:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    hear hear!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

