Hello again. I’m back.

A week of no blogging. It’s been a little difficult! I use this blog as an outlet for my thoughts, an organization system and just a way of communicating with my friends and family. Whenever I have a thought I want to share, I get on and start a new post and just start typing. Not everything makes it to being published but there is something therapeutic about typing out your thoughts. A couple of times during some frustrating parts of the week, I had to open up Google Documents just to begin typing out my thoughts so I could process them and organize them in place of blogging. It was interesting because it almost turned out to be a prayer time of expressing my feelings to God instead of all you readers. I didn’t realize how much I turned to this blog to fill my need to express a feeling or a thought.

A week of no facebook. Not as difficult as a week of no blogging. I did use facebook to fill random gaps in my day when I needed a quick break from work. . . I would just facebook stalk my friends and read their statuses. . . that’s it. Maybe send a message or two. I did rely on it for finding out e-mail addresses for friends and family though and I kinda missed having that resource available to me. I was a lot more productive at work without the frequent facebook logins. I also would pray for people when I felt the urge to login on ‘real quick’ to see what my friends were doing. Praying for them seemed a lot more fulfilling than stalking them. 🙂

I caved and bought a hairdryer. When we were in Dallas for my baby shower, I used a hair dryer and realized how much I missed it. I did try to find a more eco friendly option for this round, and I found a Conair that claims to use 25% less energy and it’s pretty small, so they use less material to make it. I won’t use it every day, but it is nice to have the option. It’s funny because I’ve learned that I get ready quicker when I don’t blow dry my hair and it’s still dry by the time I get to work. Not a necessity like I used to think it was.

I also started taking ‘food derived’ prenatal vitamins. A couple of my friends helped educate me on options that I didn’t realize were available for these. Essentially, you have synthetic chemically derived vitamins (mine were pink, which makes me wonder what in the world they were doing to them to make them pink) and food based vitamins. It seemed more natural to try the food based vitamins, but sadly, I didn’t look to see how many times a day you have to take them. Six times. And they’re stinky, large and make me gag. I’m going to try to finish the bottle and then try a once a day Mega Food Baby and Me vitamins. . . so yeah, always look at serving sizes on vitamins before purchasing.

I did have a huge disappointment happen this week, and I know that it really isn’t that big of a deal, but it involved money, planning and ‘the man’ (a.k.a. insurance company). Due to some technicalities and all around difficulties with the insurance system, I will get $0 for my maternity leave as opposed to the 60% of my salary that I thought I would be getting from short term disability (yeah, pregnancy is a disability in America, great, right?). I know we will be fine but I was still pretty mad and upset about it for a couple of days. I don’t think that I was really mad about the money (maybe a little mad, it would have covered our hospital bills), it was more about the circumstance, I think. God is trying to teach me dependence, I know, but I like depending on myself. It’s a lot easier to do. Why do the things I need to learn have to be so difficult!?

In happy news, we’re going on vacation tomorrow through Monday! Yay! We have some incredible friends that have a lake house a couple hours east of Dallas that they are letting us utilize to get away for one last ‘just the two of us’ hurrah before Jude comes along. We are going to rest, relax and not be busy. I am anxiously anticipating it. Rest sounds so nice, and just the two of us sounds even better!

And with that, I will conclude this overly long, no picture posted blog entry! If you made it this far, I’m impressed! Stay tuned for a pregnancy update and a few yummy recipes I’ve tried that need to be passed on.

6 Comments

  1. Marie Larkin
    Posted April 23, 2009 at 12:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Enjoy your time away — you certainly deserve it!
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Posted April 23, 2009 at 12:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s too bad about your maternity pay…I was stunned in my Latin American history class all the maternity benefits those countries have (at least in theory; I’m not sure it always works out the way the law says) compared to the way it is here…

    I hope you guys have fun this weekend! I can’t believe our 3 year anniversary is right around the corner!

  3. Cynthia
    Posted April 23, 2009 at 7:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Beth, God has been teaching us hard things we need to do, too. We have realized that we were depending way to much on ourselves and not enough on Him. I sure you already know this, but even though the lesson is hard…it is well worth it! We are praying for you, Jason and baby Jude. Have fun on your mini-vacation.

    Cynthia

  4. Posted April 23, 2009 at 11:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Enjoyed the update ~ can’t wait for the latest pregnancy pic to see how you are doing! 🙂 Glad all is well and you survived the media fast in fine accord.

  5. Posted April 24, 2009 at 5:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    good to have you back. Mid way through last week I was thinking.. “what am I missing”. I realized at that point it was your blog posts. Stang, but true. sounds like a good weekend at the lake house.

  6. Posted April 24, 2009 at 7:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    What horrible news about the maternity pay! I don’t get any pay either, but I never expect in my field. I’ll pray that God provides for you guys in big ways!

    Glad that you’re back!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

