Eight Months

I’ve always liked the number eight. I even like the way it’s spelled. E-I-G-H-T. I like words that start with vowels. And overall it’s just a good number. And now I’m eight months pregnant, 32 weeks. At 37 weeks, Jude could be born at any moment and not be a preemie.

Some thoughts on being eight months pregnant? Why yes, thanks for asking, I have a few:

  • I’m really tired of hiking up my pants every couple of seconds. I almost feel like I need suspenders or snaps on my shirt to snap to my pants so people aren’t getting unwanted glimpses of pregnant belly. My hips really are completely gone and my pants are struggling to figure out what in the world to hold on to. Most of my pants don’t have the full belly panel so the band of elastic just isn’t really cutting it. I think I may purchase a couple of dresses for comfort and ease of use here soon. They will guarantee that no one gets belly flashes.
  • Jude is still getting the hiccups multiple times daily. I think five times in one day has been the record. It’s especially weird now because he’s face down (which is good because he’s not breech!) and hiccups into my hips. It’s a really strange feeling.
  • I’m trying out this all natural and eco friendly diaper detergent right now and the smell makes Jason freak out. It’s pretty funny. He says it ‘smells like baby’ (which much disgust in his voice) and he comments on the smell every time we walk through our laundry room! The big thing is that the detergents for cloth diapers contain no enzymes, dyes, perfumes, optical brighteners, soap or borax. This is to clean effectively, keep from irritating the baby’s skin and to maintain the life of the diaper. Pretty limiting criteria and it makes me not want to try my hand at making diaper detergent. I’m thinking that this lady’s diaper detergent is working really well (I pre-washed a set of diapers and inserts this past weekend), I like supporting a mom run business and I can get it in a non-baby smelling scent (or even unscented) so Jason will be able to tolerate it once my samples run out. 🙂
  • The not too pleasant (and maybe TMI) things I have been experiencing are round ligament pain around my belly and back every once and a while and leaking. Yeah, that’s right. They leak colostrum. I wish someone had told me to expect that because I was a little freaked out by it. Clumsiness is up and it turns out there is a medical reason for the increase during pregnancy – your joints loosen and swell in preparation for birth (all of them, not just the ones you need) and that, in turn, makes you clumsy. So there, for once in my life, I have a real excuse for dropping everything! Although it’s much more unpleasant now because bending over to pick something up is very difficult.
  • My body has started ‘practicing for birth’ by starting with Braxtox Hicks contractions. They’re completely painless, but a bizarre feeling nonetheless.
  • We finally started our ‘birthing classes’ and we couldn’t find a place that would do it within the constraints of our schedule so our lovely doula is helping us out by meeting with us once a week to go through classes and doula stuff! One of the things I’ve been stuck on from our latest session is this idea of surrender during birth. People don’t really like to surrender to things in general, especially things that are going to be painful but I really think that this is truly a good concept for birth. I know it’s going to hurt, I know that it will be difficult but I also know that my body is built to knit together, grow, birth and sustain a baby. If I can surrender to the fact that my body is designed to go through birth, I think it will be an easier process to go through. Not painless but often in life, pain isn’t always a bad thing. We grow into stronger people through those times.
  • I’ve also been amused recently by the fact that pregnancy is about 40 weeks long. Biblically, the number 40 often represented a time of trials, testing and difficulty (Jesus was fasted for 40 days, it rained for 40 days and nights during the great flood, Israelites spent 40 years in the wilderness) . . . I’m thinking that says something about pregnancy being a time of trials, testing and difficulties and I think I agree. It is definitely a time of refinement of character since it is something you have almost no control over at all.

Ok, that’s all for now! I’m off for my vacation full of rest and relaxation! Have a good weekend everyone!

7 Comments

  1. Posted April 24, 2009 at 8:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    Did you know that the number eight is considered to be THE lucky number in Asian cultures, especially east asian cultures. I hope the number eight is “lucky” for you as well. Enjoy your vacation.

  2. Posted April 24, 2009 at 9:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    Have a good vacation!

  3. Posted April 24, 2009 at 10:30 am | Permalink | Reply

    Lots of good thoughts. Pregnancy is so weird – I can’t believe all the things our body is prepared to do! I really liked what you had to say about surrender and 40 days. Have a great time this weekend!

  4. Posted April 24, 2009 at 10:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, time really flies! You look gorgeous! I really can’t believe how quickly your pregnancy has come along. I can’t wait to see the pictures of your beautiful baby boy!!

    Have a nice relaxing weekend. We’re off for a short weekend getaway as well.

  5. Posted April 28, 2009 at 9:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    loved this post, & if you haven’t already, target has some great full length jersey dresses right now.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 28, 2009 at 9:50 am | Permalink | Reply

      That’s pretty funny – I just bough two full length jersey dresses from Target on Friday. They are so comfy, I think I’ll be living in them the next couple of months!

  6. Posted May 7, 2009 at 3:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hang in there! You won’t be pregnant forever, even if it feels like it. Waitin’ for the news!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

