Stippling, Quilts, Pillows, Bumpers

Wow. I’m sad to say I haven’t posted anything about sewing since March 10th. Life has just been that busy. I mean, it took a vacation for me to have enough time to finish up some projects that I’ve had going on for awhile! So, here are a few of them:

I got lazy on the bumpers and didn’t make them the way that was laid out in Little Stitches with all the pockets and everything. . . Essentially they’re just pillows with ribbons. Nice and easy. 🙂 And I made a little pillow to match the quilt. The flip side matches the bumper fabrics.

And on our way out of town on Friday, we stopped by a local sewing shop and picked up a free motion quilting foot (since my cat lost the one I had, grrrrr) and I tried my hand at stippling! I thought I was going to hate it because the few people I had talked to that had tried it said it was really difficult. Turns out I love it. It completely masks a lot of the flaws in my quilt and it was so fun to have no plan and just see what turned out! I’m still learning and that’s obvious in some areas of the stippling where there are right angles, or the stitch lengths aren’t even or curly cues are crossing each other, but overall it was really fun. I would like to be able to tighten up the curly cues but I think that will come with time and with experience.

I forgot to ask Jason to take a picture of that fact that I also attached the green minky fabric to the back of the quilt after stippling the quilt face, but it’s on there and it’s so soft! Now there’s only one last thing left on the quilt and that’s to put the chocolate brown binding around the edges . . . Let’s see how long that takes me!

9 Comments

  1. Posted April 29, 2009 at 12:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It all looks great! I can’t wait to see the quilt all finished.

  2. Posted April 29, 2009 at 1:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks so lovely! I love stipling too! There are so many options for designs and I agree, it really hides errors made in the quilting process. You little boy is going to be wrapped in all sorts of love and warmth! I can’t wait to get started on my own. Now we just need to find out if it is a boy or a girl…

  3. Posted April 29, 2009 at 1:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great job!

  4. jownby
    Posted April 29, 2009 at 2:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Cute, cute, cute!

  5. Posted April 30, 2009 at 6:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    Everything looks beautiful, and your stipling is terrific! Good job! Take care — Dianne B. in England

  6. Jenny
    Posted April 30, 2009 at 10:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow…looks way cute. Well done.

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted April 30, 2009 at 11:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks everyone!

  8. Brenda Farris
    Posted May 1, 2009 at 11:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beth, you are so talented! Your quilt is beautiful, and you should be proud! Love u!

  9. Posted May 29, 2009 at 2:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What an adorable crib set! You did a really great job – love the quilt!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

