The History of Love

thehistoryoflove The History of Love by Nicole Krauss was originally an option that our book club was considering reading. It sparked my interest enough that it was one of the two books that I got for free after posting 10 books to swap on paperbackswap.com. I really wanted to like this book, I really did. It seemed like it was going to be a book that I would really enjoy, but I just didn’t. It’s one of those stories that has several different stories going on at once and then at one moment at the end, they all tie together. In this book the common thread is a book (The History of Love) written by one of the people in the story line. The writing wasn’t bad, the story wasn’t bad. . . I don’t really know what I didn’t like about it so much. Maybe I just didn’t relate to storyline enough. I didn’t really feel like there was a climax or something that the characters were struggling against. . . it just kinda kept going. . .  I finished it, put it down and knew I wouldn’t be passing it on to any friends or recommending it to people to pick up and read. So yeah, not a big fan of this one. . . I’m glad it didn’t end up on our book club list and it is promptly being listed back on paperbackswap.com for someone else to take off my hands! If there’s anyone out there that liked this book, let me know why and what you got out of it! Maybe you can shed some light on why this book is popular.

5/10

6 Comments

  1. jownby
    Posted May 4, 2009 at 1:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve been considering reading this one. So glad you warned me!

  2. Posted May 4, 2009 at 3:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    ugh…I didn’t like it either and I was so disappointed b/c I too really really really wanted to like it. It is ranking up there with The Memory Keeper’s Daughter — if that doesn’t give you a clue as to how I really feel about it!! LOL

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 4, 2009 at 3:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

      So glad to know that I’m not alone in my feelings! I thought I might be a little crazy for not liking it! Thankfully I followed this book up with a really good book so I didn’t linger to long on feeling like I wasted time on that book.

  3. Posted May 4, 2009 at 4:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sorry you didn’t like it!

  4. nini
    Posted May 7, 2009 at 6:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    aww really? i loved this book so much. i read it a couple years ago but remember thinking it was really funny. but it was recommended to me by a friend so maybe i was biased when i started reading it. the friend that recommended it is polish though, and she talked about how the book gave some good polish insight. 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 8, 2009 at 9:22 am | Permalink | Reply

      Maybe I just didn’t get the insight . . . sad!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

