Gathering Blue

gatheringbluePaperbackswap.com allowed me to go ahead and get the second book in the trio that follows The Giver, which is Lois Lowry’s Gathering Blue. Right from the very beginning of the book I was hooked! It’s a similar storyline as The Giver, but it’s set outside of the boundary of the Utopia in the first story. The people are more primitive but tell a more complete story of the past hinted at in The Giver, where there were tall buildings and wars.

The story opens with the mourning of the death of Kira’s mother and the revealing of Kira’s bum leg and why it is so looked down on in her community. Thankfully, Kira has a special talent that no one else in the community posesses – she can embroider in such a way that her talents are sought after by the community leaders to repair and embellish ‘the singer’s robe’. The singer participates in a once a year ceremony, the Ruin Song Gathering, that recounts their world’s past. The robe is embroidered with the tales from the song. As with the Giver’s storyline, Kira finds some things oddly amiss in her society. Why do the ones with talents sought after by the council suddenly have both parents disappear or die? Why does the community fear the ‘beasts’ in the woods? These are questions that you’re left lingering on once the book has finished. The Messanger will surely pick up with Kira’s little friend Matt and his dog, Branch, as the messanger between their village and another. I’m anxious to start reading the final book in this trilogy but I’m determined to wait patiently until it’s available on paperbackswap, so I don’t have to pay for it. 🙂 Great book and quick read – highly recommended especially if you enjoyed The Giver! 8.5/10

3 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted May 7, 2009 at 9:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds good!

  2. Posted May 23, 2009 at 12:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love this book. I loved The Giver and I want to read the third book. The Messenger I think it is called but I keep forgetting to pick it up at the library when I go.

  3. Veronica
    Posted May 27, 2009 at 9:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    Whoooaaa… The Giver is probably my favorite book, and I had no idea it was part of a trilogy! Thanks!

One Trackback

  1. […] is the final installment of the trilogy that begins with the Giver and moves on to the story of the Gathering Blue. This book begins showing that the characters in the former books are alive and well. Matty is the […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

