Fat Quarter Totes

I whipped up a three fat quarter tote bags as gifts this past Sunday and I thought they turned out really cute! It’s a free pattern that you can find at Cicada Daydreams. It’s about the perfect size to be a lunch tote. I love that the instructions show you how to utilize the entire fat quarter – almost nothing goes to waste! I used a cotton canvas fabric that I’ve used before in several different projects that is from Ikea (but I don’t think they have this print any longer). I really like that the lining sticks up above the exterior just a bit to peek out and show the color that matches the bottom panel. If I make this again, I would probably add some pockets, either on the outside or the inside, but I think that may be the one thing that’s lacking. . .

8 Comments

  1. Posted May 12, 2009 at 8:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    These are so cute. The fabrics go so well together. I love them!

  2. Posted May 12, 2009 at 8:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my goodness those are so cute! Just another item to add to my list!

  3. Cynthia
    Posted May 12, 2009 at 6:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Beth! I love them! They are beautiful!

  4. Posted May 12, 2009 at 7:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ooohhh I really really like these, and I love the pic too. Good shot!

  5. Posted May 14, 2009 at 3:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i love these!! how do you keep the seems looking so neat? i dont know how to hem very well…and i know you will make fantastic boy clothes! i cant wait to copy!!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 14, 2009 at 3:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Partially practice and partially I have a really nice machine! The first machine I had made it really difficult to keep the seams straight. . . and I can say that ironing and pining make a really big difference. . .

  6. Shelley
    Posted May 15, 2009 at 10:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m with Ellie! Add it to the list. 🙂 Sewing day, here I come. I was just thinking the other day that I needed a new purse, but the thought of buying something was not pleasant. Now…mind you…I will spend money on fabric, though.

  7. cooperella
    Posted May 24, 2009 at 1:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i love this tote! i’ve been using it everyday, perfect for bring lunch & a book to work – so super stylish and it’s so well made!! 🙂 i’ve been eyeing it lately and thinking, “I have to talk to Beth about a purse sometime…” after the baby, of course, no pressure. 😉

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

