Slow-Cooked Carnitas Tacos

In all honesty, I didn’t have high hopes for this recipe, but the reviews were so good I decided I should try it. I mean, c’mon, it’s only pork, salt, pepper, oregano and some onions. Pretty simple and cheap. So I dusted off our slow cooker (we were in a fight – it burned the last two meals I placed in it), and added the cubes of pork and the remaining ingredients. The slow cooker played nice this time and I came home from church and shredded the nicely cooked pork cubes. Then I tasted it. It was amazingly delicious. So much better than I would have expected that I am now thinking it would be possible to have people over on a weeknight because I can come home to a slow cooker full of this pork goodness. I did add a sprinkle of feta cheese since it is fairly similar to queso fresco and I thought it was nice. Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe. Jason liked it better with flour tortillas, but I thought the corn tortillas were perfect with the pork. Yum. I’m making this one again, soon!

Recipe for Slow-Cooked Carnitas Tacos

12 Comments

  1. Posted May 13, 2009 at 8:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yumm! I’ve always loved carnitas. I think one of the reasons they use such a simple recipe (other than that it’s less expensive) is because a lot of times when you eat carnitas the flavor comes from the cilantro, onions, and salsa. I will definitely be trying this soon!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 13, 2009 at 12:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Or the flavor comes from the amazing amount of fat in the Pork Shoulder! 🙂 I was worried that there was no liquid added to keep the pork from burning but I didn’t need to worry since it rendered off so much fat and simmered in that!

  2. Posted May 13, 2009 at 9:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am happy that you and the slow cooker are on good terms right now! Maybe it will continue to make nice and you can try out some other recipes using it.

    This looks and sounds delicious! I love carnitas…

  3. Posted May 13, 2009 at 12:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These were seriously insane. Thanks, love!

  4. Posted May 13, 2009 at 12:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    As I type, this is cooking in my crockpot… hee hee…thanks for inspiring me to thaw that pork shoulder from my freezer this morning!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 13, 2009 at 1:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Awesome! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  5. NIght Train
    Posted May 13, 2009 at 12:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m gonna try it. It won’t be as good as yours, but, let’s be honest here… WHAT IS?!?!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 13, 2009 at 1:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Aw Payton, you’re too sweet! I know it will turn out great for you!

  6. lailablogs
    Posted May 13, 2009 at 5:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    looks amazing … absolutely delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  7. Shelley
    Posted May 15, 2009 at 10:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks fab! I will make it next week. 🙂

  8. Posted June 4, 2009 at 9:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    I made these this week! I thought they were great and maybe the easiest meal I’ve ever made! Jeremy didn’t love them, but I think he’s crazy – I thought they were perfect!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 4, 2009 at 9:42 am | Permalink | Reply

      I second them being the easiest meal ever made for how good they taste! I just put some in the crock pot this morning. . . can’t wait to get home to some yummy goodness!

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] It is so delicious! It’s supposed to make four servings but Jason and I went back for seconds, leaving us with no leftovers for the next day. I especially enjoyed the texture of the garbanzo beans once they had been roasted. There was a little bit of crunch to them that was just delicious and texturally complimented the tomatoes and chicken. The colors in this recipe are beautiful and the ease and quickness of preparation and surprise at the quality of taste is up there with the carnitas. […]

  2. By 40 Clove Slow Cooker Chicken « think liz. on February 18, 2010 at 8:03 am

    […] of recipes. Some have been ok (I think I just committed some kind of blasphemy), and some have been stellar. I pulled out the crock pot and peeled my 40ish cloves of […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

