Strawberry Mascarpone Tart with Port Glaze

Not to make you jealous or anything (ok, maybe trying to make you a little jealous), but Ellie and I whipped this little dessert beauty up last weekend to enjoy with our husbands . . . and then we ate it for breakfast the next morning. 🙂 Hey, I’m pregnant (hopefully not for much longer though, c’mon Baby Jude!). I can eat dessert for breakfast if I want to.

Anyways – this was super simple to make and as Ellie said, it tastes restaurant worthy! I would NOT recommend using a silicon tart pan (it’s all I had) as it burned the tart crust a little bit. Not enough for us to complain about, but hey . . . just passing on the knowledge! Definitely an impressive dessert for the little effort it took to put it together. The crust tastes like a butter cookie, and the filling is lightly lemon scented, thick, creamy, and just delicious. You could fold in a little whipped cream to the mascarpone mixture if you wanted to lighten up the consistency a bit, but I liked it thick. . . now I just need to figure out what to do with the rest of the bottle of ruby port that I have left over from making this. . . I think I hear a pork tenderloin and some cherries crying out to me to be used with the port. . . Stay tuned. . .

Recipe for Strawberry Mascarpone Tart with Port Glaze

2 Comments

  1. Posted May 21, 2009 at 11:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    This was so fun – it tasted great, but really making it together made it even better. Of course, I am not pregnant so I have no valid excuse for eating it for breakfast…so I had it for brunch! It was a little break for me during my biology final essays!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 21, 2009 at 12:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Agreed. Really, isn’t cooking always better when you get to do it with someone else that you enjoy? 🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] hungry at all times! I thought it was bad previous to this, but it has gotten worse. No wonder I’m getting stretch […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

