9 Months. OK fine, 36 weeks.

OK, I realize that my system of pregnancy monitoring is flawed since the only month with 4 weeks is February (which is how I had been defining my weeks for these posts), so I guess I understand why people always say what week of pregnancy they are instead of what month. It just always bothered me because whenever someone said they were ‘blad de blah’ weeks along, I had to divide by four in my head to get any sense of how far along they really were in human time. Because no where else do we use weeks to track a long amount of time. . . it’s just confusing if you ask me.

So 36 weeks. 37 weeks is considered ‘full term’ and 40-42 weeks is the typical gestation for a human baby. There is anywhere from 1 week to 6 weeks left in this pregnancy. *Sigh* It is difficult for me to give up the sense of control for all of this. I want to KNOW when he’s going to show up! I completely understand the enticement of inducing a baby or scheduling a c-section, I just don’t think that either of those ways are the healthiest way for a baby to be born when there are no complications or medical reasons to do so. But there is still some sense of control . . . at the expense of the baby’s health. Hmph. Jude will come when he’s good and ready and I have no idea when that will be. Sad. I’m trying not to count down the days and make myself anxious. Just gotta keep trucking along.

Well, here I am at 36 weeks, looking, and feeling all huge (but I still have a belly button, albeit a shallow one!):

Yes, I waddle when I walk, get out of breath walking up the stairs, can’t get off the floor very easily, can’t get down to the floor very easily, can hardly roll out of bed, struggle to tie my shoes, feel every movement that Jude makes, and long for the day when I am not pregnant and can wear normal clothes again. Really makes you want to be pregnant, doesn’t it. 😉

Soon. He’ll be here soon.

14 Comments

  1. Posted May 22, 2009 at 8:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    You still look gorgeous! Hang in there, these last few week(s) will go by quickly.

  2. Posted May 22, 2009 at 9:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Beth! I’ve been meaning to comment on how much I enjoy your blog! I’m so excited for the blessings ahead of you as Jude arrives! Being a Mom is amazing on so many levels and I know you are going to be a great one!!!

  3. Posted May 22, 2009 at 10:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    Almost there!

  4. Jason
    Posted May 22, 2009 at 10:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love you and you are beautiful!

  5. Bounty2009
    Posted May 22, 2009 at 12:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OMG – you look so beautiful in that picture! Loving the bump :-)Loving the blog hun, congratulations on your pregnancy! Nearly there -Exciting times…I just had my first baby (Boy, Marlow ) Have you picked any baby names yet? You should have a look at http://www.bounty.com/babynames/ where you can search names by meaning and origin, plus its got a list of top 100 names for boys and girls. Hope its helpful – I thought it was great when picking my babies name xx

  6. Posted May 22, 2009 at 1:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Beth, you look beautiful!! I went to the birthing cottage today. Thank you so much for the recommendation. I’m definetely going to use them. Oh and instead of 4 weeks looks like I’m 10 weeks. I guess my first negative pregnancy test shouldn’t have been negative after all. So excited for you and Jason and Jude!

  7. Posted May 22, 2009 at 3:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Just tell Jude to hold off until after Monday. I’d much rather take pictures of your belly than of him trying to find his way out of it. :O

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 22, 2009 at 3:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Haha, I don’t think that will be a problem!

  8. Posted May 22, 2009 at 3:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well, from a medical standpoint, the larger the baby, the higher likelihood of it developing diabetes when he/she gets older. Check with your doctor about how big he is because sometimes an induced pregnancy isn’t such a bad thing (I was two weeks late, induced, and 9 pounds 1 ounce… I don’t think you want a baby THAT big).

    Love you much!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 22, 2009 at 3:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Well, apparently he’s around 5.5 to 6 pounds right now, so not too bad. . . and yes, I think that a baby that is getting too big is probably a good medical reason to induce. I’m just talking about inducing just for the sake of inducing (which is becoming really common)!

  9. Sheri
    Posted May 22, 2009 at 4:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I also saw the reason people induce… it would have been nice to know – you know that control factor you were talking about. 🙂 Still the surprise is fun and more natural. The waiting is a bummer, though.

    And I’m also looking forward to normal clothes again… I think post baby body is worth than pregnant body, but maybe I’m too obsessed with looks. Sigh.

  10. Keri
    Posted May 23, 2009 at 2:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi,
    I found your blog via craft blog and I just have to comment on this post.
    First off you look amazingly beautiful! Second, I was totally like you before my first pregnancy with the months and the weeks but now after having my baby (toddler now) I can only ever think in weeks!
    I was as anxious as you were to have my daughter. I thought from the start that I was going to go into labor at 37 weeks but I had to wait till 41 weeks before my daughter decided she wanted to grace us with her pressence. Getting to the point: looking back now that time in my life was one of the most amazing times in my life (long walks with hubby trying to convince baby to come… and so on) so please enjoy your self! You will never have a time like this to be your single self again.
    (sorry for the advice from a complete stranger- you really do look fabulous!)

  11. Posted May 25, 2009 at 10:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You look gorgeous! Thanks for the update and for the pic. I always do the same thing with the weeks too! But yeah, guess it makes sense. Praying Jude comes soon and your sanity stays intact until then! 🙂

  12. Posted May 26, 2009 at 10:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    you look beautiful!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

