A month of celebrations. And sewing.

May is definitely the month of celebrations. I have 8 birthdays on my calendar, our anniversary, mother’s day, plenty of weddings, and not to mention all of the graduations (from college and since we work with high school students, tons of high school graduations!). I’m trying really hard not to spend money right now since well, we’re about to have a baby, so I’ve been turning to my overflowing sewing stash to get me through this month of celebration (and if you haven’t received a gift, and it was your birthday, my apologies – it’s difficult to get to everyone!).

Most recently, I’ve whipped up a little jumper from Amy Butler’s Little Stitches for my friend’s daughter who turned one this past weekend. I’m really hoping that it will fit since I just went by the sizing in the book that said 12 months! It looks nice and summery, doesn’t it? I really enjoyed sewing this and it came together so quickly! Little people clothes are dang fun to make. . . too bad making dresses and skirts for little girls are kinda more fun (and probably easier) than making little boy clothes. This was also my first time to use my automatic buttonhole stitch on my machine. Amazing, I tell you. So simple! I’m going to be putting buttons on everything now. . . . I just need to get more buttons because all the buttons I have don’t match. Heh. (The picture on the left is the front, and the picture on the right is the back, although I don’t see why you couldn’t wear either side as the front. . . )

And for a birthday gift for a friend this weekend, I made the Buttercup Bag from a free pattern by Made by Rae. It came together in a matter of about an hour and a half! Very very fun to sew and see the results so quickly. It is a fairly small bag so I think the thickness works alright as it is but if I made it again, I think I would use heavier weight fabric or some iron on interfacing to give it a little more weight. It would also be fun to size the pattern up and make a larger style of this same bag. . . Hmmm . . . I might have another project for one of the other birthdays I know that are coming up . . . 🙂

7 Comments

  1. Posted May 26, 2009 at 10:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    Cute! I agree that sewing for little girls seems more fun than little boys’ clothes. No dresses and skirts for them! I’m sure you’ll find lots of cute stuff for boys over the next few years, though! And I love the bag. Good fabric pick!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 26, 2009 at 10:59 am | Permalink | Reply

      I’m thinking I’m going to try my hand at a free pattern for a kimono style top for little boys soon. . . I think that will be a good start of learning how to have fun making little boy’s clothes!

      That fabric for the bag was leftover from making Jason boxers awhile back! Glad I finally found a use for the leftover material since there wasn’t very much!

  2. Posted May 26, 2009 at 10:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    So cute! I love the little dress! And I made the Buttercup bag this weekend too (actually I made two!) – it’s so easy and satisfying!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 26, 2009 at 11:00 am | Permalink | Reply

      Can’t wait to see how your buttercup bags turned out! I think I am going to make another one but in the bigger size as a gift. . . it seems like a versatile little pattern.

  3. Posted May 26, 2009 at 11:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love it!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

