Car Bomb Cupcakes (chocolate whiskey and beer cupcakes)

Alright, so my guess is that most people don’t actually know what a carbomb is. It’s a shot of Bailey’s Irish Cream dropped into a pint of Guinness Beer. Apparently when you drop the Bailey’s in, it makes the beer foam and you’re supposed to chug it as fast as possible before the whole mixture curdles. Sounds delicious right (that was sarcasm in case you didn’t catch that)? Well, independently, I enjoy a Guinness (it tastes like coffee beer to me) and Baileys and incorporating them into a tasty dessert doesn’t sound like quite as perilous an idea as making them into a drink. . . so I saw this recipe for these cupcakes and I knew I had to make them. Guinness is in the chocolate cake mixture and Bailey’s is in the frosting. And just to put the whole thing over the edge, it is filled with chocolate ganache (which is basically a truffle).

I must say that these cupcakes baked up so perfectly I was amazed. They had such a great flat top to put icing on and didn’t overflow. . . Amazing. It inspired me to dust off my icing tips and actually truly frost the cupcakes. The icing is very sweet, so I didn’t feel like much was needed, so the little star tip frosting tip worked perfectly for me. OK, how decadent is this:

You bit into it just to be greeted by more rich bittersweet chocolate. Oh goodness. I’m going to have to make more of these. And to top it off, since you cut out the middles of the cupcakes to fill them with ganache, I ended up with a 24 cupcake middles that needed some place to go. So after I frosted all of the cupcakes and had some Bailey’s frosting leftover. This got me thinking. People seem to be going nuts over these cake ball things that are so easy to make. Essentially it’s crumbled baked cake, a can of icing, stir together, scoop out, freeze the cake/icing balls, and dip in chocolate. I kinda think of them as cake truffles. So what did I do with my leftover cupcake middles and frosting but make cake balls and dunk them in the remaining bittersweet chocolate I had. Nothing goes to waste this way. And they were insanely good. Eventually I’ll have this baby and I’ll stop with all these sweets. I promise.

So where do you find this recipe? I’m glad you asked:

Recipe for Car Bomb Cupcakes

11 Comments

  1. Posted May 29, 2009 at 12:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I need to try these! Maybe for my colleague’s bday this coming Monday!

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

  2. Kaylebug
    Posted May 29, 2009 at 2:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those look freaking amazing! I’ll have to try this, in a few years of course…
    🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 29, 2009 at 2:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Haha I don’t think the 4 tbsps of Bailey’s in the frosting is going to hurt you (and the Guinness cooks out). . . 🙂

  3. Posted May 29, 2009 at 4:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those look amazing! Yum!

  4. Posted May 29, 2009 at 4:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those look amazing! I’m definitely going to give them a run by my pregnant chocolate-lovin’ taste buds this weekend =) In the meantime, I can’t believe I have to spend the next three hours fantasizing about cupcakes until I get home from work. That’s just plain cruelty.

  5. Posted May 29, 2009 at 4:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These look and sound so amazing!

  6. Posted May 30, 2009 at 11:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    You’re killing this trying to be healthy after pregnancy to get back to normal weight girl!

    But man, just ONE won’t hurt, right? 🙂

  7. Posted May 30, 2009 at 4:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    holy cow those look scrumptious!!! I wish I had one right now!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and entering my giveaway! 🙂

  8. Krista
    Posted May 30, 2009 at 9:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow. These look amazing. One of the few recipes that you see and start craving immediately!

  9. cooperella
    Posted June 2, 2009 at 9:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    um, those look ah-mah-zing. *drool*

  10. Posted July 21, 2009 at 3:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yum! I love car bombs! (I’m talking about the drink Mr. NSA agent) Those look amazing.
    Here is the recipe for a real car bomb if any one wants to try it.

    Irich Car Bomb
    1/2 shot Irish whiskey
    1/2 shot Bailey’s® Irish cream
    1/2 pint Guinness® stout

    Combine (proportions of 50/50) Bailey’s Irish Cream and Irish Whiskey into one shot glass. Drop the shot into a mug of guinness and chugg until empty.

4 Trackbacks

  1. […] at all times! I thought it was bad previous to this, but it has gotten worse. No wonder I’m getting stretch […]

  2. By Cooking for the weekend « Musings on July 13, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    […] now that was my favorite part of the meal to make and to eat!  It’s a recipe I saw on a friend’s blog a couple of months ago and had forgotten about, but then she reposted it on AusinPost.org!  […]

  3. […] yes, I think this recipe is up there with the Car Bomb Cupcakes, but much less time intensive and a bit more elegant (I mean, come on, it has fleur de sel salt in […]

  4. By Rich Mocha Marble Cake « Books And Bakes on July 20, 2009 at 4:25 am

    […] secret: I’ve been dreaming of Bailey’s icing recently, having accidentally come across Elizabeth’s ’Car Bomb’ Cupcakes.  You know, that’s one of my weaknesses: Bailey’s Coffee.  Make a mug of strong black […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

