Coconut Ice Cream

I really can’t believe I haven’t shared this recipe with you guys yet. It is the easiest ice cream to make and probably one of mine and Jason’s all time favorites. It’s thick and creamy yet takes no effort. We had coconut ice cream for the first time on our honeymoon three years ago. It was served in a martini glass and drizzled with Bailey’s. Amazing. I think we may have had that everyday at our resort after we tried it the first time! So I was determined to replicated something similar to it once we were back in the states. This is what I found worked and it doesn’t get much easier than this:

Coconut Ice Cream

1 cup milk
1 (14 ounce) can cream of coconut (such as Coco Lopez)
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
pinch of salt

Mix together until blended. Freeze according to ice cream maker’s directions. Garnish with toasted coconut flakes.

And I’m sorry to all of you that I am tempting with these decadent dessert . . . I am obviously not concerned with the fat content of items lately as so many of my recipes have been desserts. Believe me, this will change here pretty soon and we’ll be back to trying to create healthy options instead of whatever I see and decide I want to make. 🙂

One Comment

  1. Posted June 1, 2009 at 5:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You made this for us the first time we came over! I was a little hesitant because I’m not really a fan of coconut – but this was amazing! So good!

One Trackback

  1. […] times! I thought it was bad previous to this, but it has gotten worse. No wonder I’m getting stretch […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

