The Virgin Suicides

virginsuicidesI’m not sure how this one ended up on my ‘to read’ list. I guess I’d heard a lot about The Virgin Suicides, by Jeffrey Eugenides or it could be that I’m just drawn to novels like these. Turns out recommended reading if you like the The Virgin Suicides is The Bell Jar and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, according to amazon. Maybe I should read Girl, Interrupted next and complete the recommended reading!

This book was very interesting in the fact that it doesn’t hold back the conclusion of the book. You know from the very first sentence that the main characters, the five young Lisbon girls are going to commit suicide. It is told from the point of view of the neighborhood boys, who adore these girls with a sort of youthful worship. It is pieced together from snippets of their diaries, hearsay, encounters at school and avid spying. Because of this, you don’t end up with all the answers that you may want since it’s told from an outsider’s perspective. It is set in 1970s suburbia and leads you through the year leading up to the ultimate demise of the five exotic main characters.

Despite the dark content that it contained, I felt like the book was almost poetic in nature but in such a way that I questioned whether I should enjoy it as much as I did. I am curious to see the movie now that I’ve read the book. 7.5/10

2 Comments

  1. Posted June 4, 2009 at 8:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think those books are dangerous for me to read. I felt like I connected a little too much with the main character in the Bell Jar – not that I’m going to commit suicide! These kind of books do tend to be almost poetic…

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 4, 2009 at 8:44 am | Permalink | Reply

      I wouldn’t say that you really connect with the main characters in this book – they’re very elusive most of the time. I think there are a few moments where they seem real and relatable but mostly they’re somewhat ghostlike, very ethereal.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

