Strawberry Shortcake

I’m going to have to apologize to my Nana after this recipe. You see, when I was growing up, we used to make ‘strawberry shortcake’ for her birthday every year because it’s her favorite. But after eating this one, what we used to make was a poor approximation for what shortcake actually is. This shortcake is almost like shortbread (which I adore) and perfect for layering with whipped cream and strawberries. I really enjoyed it because it wasn’t too sweet – the flavor of the summer strawberries was allowed to shine through and the dessert as a whole felt light and summery. Perfect for following up a heavy barbecue! I will say that I have never made a recipe that called for hard boiled egg yolks as an ingredient. I thought that was very odd. . . but it did allow me to lick the spoon since there were no raw ingredients in the batter. 🙂

Recipe for Strawberry Shortcakes

3 Comments

  1. Posted June 8, 2009 at 11:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    I just bought some strawberries to make strawberry shortcake! Thanks for the recipe – now I don’t have to search for one!

  2. Posted June 8, 2009 at 1:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That looks good. Hard boiled eggs – that is different!

  3. hohnstreiters
    Posted June 8, 2009 at 3:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Strawberries are my absolute FAV! This looks SO good! I’ll have to try the recipe out – it’s perfect for those upcoming summer bbqs!

One Trackback

  1. […] I guess this last bit of baby carrying takes a lot of energy because I am stinking hungry at all times! I thought it was bad previous to this, but it has gotten worse. No wonder I’m getting stretch marks. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

