39 Weeks and Waiting. . .

Turns out the last couple of weeks of pregnancy are so crazy. I thought there were a lot of changes to go through just in the overall. Seems like the most annoying drastic changes to my body are happening right now. In the last couple of weeks. The reason I post a 39 week picture is because I’m hoping not to make it to 40 weeks! We will see . . .

  • Sometimes it feels like he’s trying to escape through my right side – it’s definitely a tight fit now. He’s all elbows and he seems to prefer banging/squirming against my right side over my left.
  • I can’t get over the ridiculous weight gain although it seems that it has finally leveled out a bit as I actually lost 3 pounds from last week’s check-up. And here’s my bit of blunt honesty – I have gained 40 pounds during this pregnancy which is 10 more than I was hoping for. It is what it is at this point though. Oh. And the stretch marks I thought I might skate by without receiving . . . yeah, not so much. I have about 3 on each side. Erg.
  • I guess this last bit of baby carrying takes a lot of energy because I am stinking hungry at all times! I thought it was bad previous to this, but it has gotten worse. No wonder I’m getting stretch marks.
  • It also seems that round ligament pain has increased a lot. I just don’t like it.
  • And the waddling. Really? I don’t want to feel like a duck.
  • I looked down at my feet last Friday and they looked like sausages – I didn’t even recognize them! And now my hands are following suit and my rings are fitting just a bit too tight. These things seem to be rectified by drinking a lot of water and staying off my feet and out of the heat. I really was hoping I wouldn’t swell up like a blimp but it has happened.
  • I see myself from the side and I feel like I look like a whale. Everyone keeps reassuring me that I don’t but it is a bit shocking to see yourself this big. I know. I’m pregnant. I’m supposed to be this big. But still!
  • And I think we’re back to the first trimester complete exhaustion. All I want to do is sleep and lay around. Where is that burst of energy people get with ‘nesting’??

So any day now we’re looking at a new little boy entering this world. The birth plan is ready (which I will share soon if y’all are interested), the nursery is ready (pictures to come soon), my body is ready, and I am ready (that’s for dang sure). Jude! We want to meet you!

16 Comments

  1. Posted June 9, 2009 at 9:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    Can’t rush God’s perfection… He’s got a plan, so just be patient. Jude will make his debut soon enough 🙂

  2. Posted June 9, 2009 at 10:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    I can only imagine what you are feeling…but you look great! Albeit, I know uncomfortable. 🙂 He’ll come when he is good and ready I guess…are you working right up until he comes??

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 9, 2009 at 10:30 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yep, working until he shows up . . . it’s good because it keeps me distracted and since there will be no maternity benefits while I’m out for three months, it helps pay the soon to be hospital bills. 🙂

      • Rebecca
        Posted June 22, 2009 at 8:40 am | Permalink | Reply

        It’s tough when a company doesn’t have any benefits for new moms. It’s like we’re still in the dark ages when it comes to maternity leave… That’s why I recommend for ladies who are even remotely thinking of having a baby to carry short-term disability insurance… It’s something most people decline when selecting benefits, but it’s nice to have a small paycheck during those first 3 months… for all those diapers and cute outfits!!! 🙂

  3. Kaylebug
    Posted June 9, 2009 at 10:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am so excited little Jude’s almost here!!! I can’t wait to see/meet him! Hang in there Beth- not much longer till he’s here!
    🙂

  4. Posted June 9, 2009 at 11:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    Come on little Jude, come out!

  5. Posted June 9, 2009 at 11:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    i think you look absolutely stunning!! i know you may not feel it, but you look it. praying for a safe delivery for you and jason. and of course, that little jude would enter this world safe and sound.

  6. Posted June 9, 2009 at 12:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m crossing my fingers that Jude comes this week (like tonight would be great, yes?). It seems that you’ve been nesting this whole pregnancy! You seemed to have had WAY more energy than I did. Make sure to get some rest – you deserve it!

    Oh, yes, please share nursery and birth plan details. 🙂

  7. Posted June 9, 2009 at 1:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well, I think you look wonderful and healthy…I know those last weeks are rough though! Try to get lots of sleep and do lots of squats (helps for labor!) Cant wait to see your news and “meet” your son! Blessings on a healthy and quick labor…

  8. Posted June 9, 2009 at 2:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t wait to meet him! Come on, Jude!

  9. Posted June 9, 2009 at 6:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I LOVE your pregnancy pics! Pregnant bellies are so amazing to see – there’s a whole nother person in there! I think you should do a compilation picture – collage style – that shows the progression.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 10, 2009 at 8:52 am | Permalink | Reply

      You got your wish Dar!

  10. Posted June 9, 2009 at 8:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! I mean, not “yay” for the aches, pains, and discomfort. But, yay — you’re so close. You look fantastic, and I can’t wait to see the photos of Jude! Best wishes for a smooth delivery and your beautiful baby boy!

  11. charlotte333
    Posted June 9, 2009 at 9:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think you are one of the most beautiful, talented and refreshing people that I know. You look gorgeous every day! God has blessed you greatly and Jude is so lucky to come into your home. I wonder if after he gets here you’ll ever miss being pregnant? I’ve heard that’s possible. 🙂

  12. Cynthia
    Posted June 10, 2009 at 8:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beth,
    You look so beautiful! I can’t wait to hear that Jude is here. Please let us know if y’all need anything. We would love to help out. I would love to see what your birth plan is. It seems very intriguing.

  13. Elizabeth
    Posted June 10, 2009 at 8:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks everyone for your kind words!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

