Week One of Mommy-Hood

Today Jude is one week old. Crazy. I wonder if time just continues to speed up this way! Right now, I feel like I’m in a time warp where I’m just feeding and changing the baby all day and napping in between! It’s pretty hard to see past this point but I know we’ll be out and about sooner than it feels.

I thought I would compile some thoughts that I’ve had with this first week of mommy-hood that have struck me as interesting or unexpected. . . I will get the birth story done soon – turns out I have two – one from my perspective and the other from our doula’s perspective. Would y’all be interested in hearing both?

Who knew that breastfeeding was going to have such a learning curve! Thankfully, I’ve had good friends, nurses and a great doula to help educate me on what’s normal and how I should be handling all of this. I understand now why women stay in for such a long time after having a baby – breastfeeding is very unpredictable! Especially because of leakage once your milk comes in (it takes 6 weeks to regulate itself based on how often you feed your baby). Talk about embarrassing. . . We’re slowly but surely getting the hang of it, especially learning the calming methods so he won’t get frantic before feeding. I am super envious of all those moms that can breastfeed in public without being detected now – they make it looks so easy!

I’m pretty amazed at how quickly the baby weight is dropping – when I went into labor I was 175+ pounds, and I am at 155 already and my stomach seems to be shrinking more each day. Breastfeeding is a miracle baby fat weight loss method! Once you’ve had a baby, your uterus is still around the size of a 4-5 month pregnant woman – breastfeeding not only accesses the fat reserves your body has made during pregnancy to turn into milk, it helps shrink your uterus back to normal size. So exciting! It is definitely nice to be able to bend over again. 🙂

Sleep has been so much better than I anticipated. Partly, that’s attributed to my amazing mother who has been in Austin since Jude was born and she is forcing me to take naps and rest. I hope all women are as lucky as I in this regard. Even sleep during the night isn’t too bad because Jude will ‘cue’ me for a feeding with some large smacking sounds so I know to pick him up and feed him before he gets hysterical crying. We have him in a bassinet next to my side of the bed, so I just whisk him away to the nursery, feed him, and then he promptly falls back asleep and allows me to do the same. Incredible. 🙂

We have been using the GDiapers for diapers (once we got home from the hospital – we just used the disposables they had there – it was just so much easier) because they fit him well at this point and we have tons of inserts. I tried the BumGenius All in Ones yesterday and they’re just a bit too big for him right now. I think they’ll be great once he is big enough. I will say we’re doing quite a bit more laundry than we were previously. Babies sure do poop and pee a lot. 🙂

I think that’s all I have for now. It’s definitely time for more snuggling and a nap now. 🙂

10 Comments

  1. Posted June 23, 2009 at 1:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t even have children yet and I feel like time keeps going faster. Sometimes I have to do subtraction to figure out how old I am. 🙂 Definitely interested in hearing both stories! And glad to hear you’re getting sleep. What a blessing!

  2. Posted June 23, 2009 at 2:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s been great reading all your pregnancy and now birth updates. We are a few years away from having kids so this has been very informative but not in a scary way. I am looking forward to your birth stories- both of them. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Posted June 23, 2009 at 2:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I absolutely want to hear both stories. I am so glad to hear you are all doing so well and this is all fascinating info. No one ever tells you that info about breastfeeding. I’m glad to hear it.

  4. Krista
    Posted June 23, 2009 at 8:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love how much you are enjoying motherhood! It is unlike anything else! I’m glad that Jude is sleeping well and that breast feeding is getting easier. Camp and I can’t wait to meet Jude on Thursday! I am so glad that we get to raise our boys together! Enjoy every moment with your sweet boy… they grow and change so quickly! Love you guys!

  5. Posted June 24, 2009 at 9:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have heard from several friends about the learning curve with breastfeeding…I am glad you have help to get it all figured out! I am also looking forward to both stories…

    Keep getting some rest when you can and enjoy all your snuggle time! 🙂

  6. Posted June 24, 2009 at 11:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! It sounds like it’s going really well! I can’t wait until I get back and get to see you again!

  7. charlotte333
    Posted June 24, 2009 at 12:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I would love to hear both stories. And I have no idea why it’s hard to breast feed? You’ll have to enlighten me. (if you can’t tell, I don’t have kids yet) 🙂
    Jude’s clothes and blankets look so cute! So unique!

  8. Posted June 24, 2009 at 2:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What a beautiful beautiful baby! The first weeks of being a parent, as I remember them, were very surreal. Enjoy all the help, naps, and time away
    from the rest of the world. Sooner than you know, you’ll be one of those
    public nursing pros!

  9. Posted June 24, 2009 at 4:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Okay. I love your picture – but your kiddo certainly makes the picture taking easy!

    I love how breastfeeding does help the weight come off, though, I still have a little under half to go. Come on those last 10 lbs!!!!

    I am so glad that things are going well for you. Soon breastfeeding will become second nature. It is such a learning curve, isn’t it? Who knew?

    Hope you’re getting some rest!

  10. purewhitelily
    Posted June 24, 2009 at 7:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Jude is such a handsome boy! It’s really neat to read about breastfeeding from your perspective. I assist new and not-new moms with it ALL the time & I like reading about it from someone who’s actually doing it. Sounds like it’s going well for y’all…way to go! I know it’s no easy task, even though I’ve not done it myself. -Stephani

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

