the last sewing before baby

So in the week before Jude was born, I finally finished up the binding on the baby quilt and I’m really happy with the way it turned out! The back of the quilt is soft green sage minky fabric, so it’s not a true quilt but I still love it! I did get lazy and I didn’t sew the edging on by hand, but with my machine. . . but you really can’t tell unless you look really hard!

And the day before I went into labor, I made this free kimono pattern out of some fabric that Ellie wrapped a baby shower gift out of:

How cute is that fabric! It’s so hard to find good little boy fabric! I had been wanting to make a baby kimono for Jude for awhile but felt like the one that was in Amy Butler’s Little Stitches book required too much fabric. This is free pattern is a very simple alternative. I will say that I didn’t understand some of the instructions for the ties until after I had completed it incorrectly! So if you find yourself making this pattern, know that there are ties on the interior and exterior of the kimono. . . I only ended up with the external ties because I couldn’t figure out why you needed internal ties. . . until I was done. Oh well! It still works and is cute! It is just a bit too big for him now, but I’m sure I’ll post a picture of him in it soon. 🙂

I know it will probably be a while before I get to sew again, so I am glad I got the opportunity right before he was born to finish up some of the outstanding projects I had going on. The only thing I have on my list of things to make is a Mai Tai baby carrier. . . hopefully I can find some time to make one!

8 Comments

  1. hohnstreiters
    Posted June 24, 2009 at 7:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    that quilt turned out beautiful! and that kimono is absolute cuteness! hope you are enjoying these precious moments w/ the little one 🙂

  2. Posted June 24, 2009 at 7:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I really love the quilt. You did an awesome job putting together the colors!

  3. Posted June 25, 2009 at 4:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    You’ve made some really cute things for Jude. I love seeing your baby photos, he’s so precious and adorable. Also happy to know that you are both well and thriving! Take care. Dianne B. in England

  4. habitual
    Posted June 25, 2009 at 6:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    So cute, love the quilt! I agree… great ‘boy’ fabrics are a challenge to find. Your is great, very vintage looking. I hope you enjoyed the pattern!

  5. Posted June 25, 2009 at 10:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am glad you finally found a kimono pattern to do!! I know you have been itching to make one for awhile. 🙂 I love the fabric that Ellie gave you — very sweet for a baby boy!

  6. Posted June 25, 2009 at 12:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my goodness, Elizabeth! That quilt is beautiful!

  7. Posted June 25, 2009 at 12:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, and hey, have you ever considered opening your own shop on etsy (you know in between changing diapers, feedings, and a nap here and there)? You’d do great, I think.

  8. Elizabeth
    Posted June 25, 2009 at 1:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks everyone! And Sheri, I have thought many times about opening an etsy shop . . . it’s a matter of making a few more of my own patterns and seeing if they are worthy of being sold! 🙂

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] the kimono I made […]

  2. […] Crafts, sew what skirts, Sewing, skirt, sling by Elizabeth I haven’t sewn anything since Jude’s Kimono two days before he was born. That’s about 2 months now. Quite sad if you ask me. Well, we had […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

