Light Wheat Bread

This is a recipe I had been wanting to make for a LONG while! It’s so simple, it just takes a lot of time for the rising and baking. I used my stand mixer to knead the bread and it makes it so much easier . . . I’m thinking this is going to be my ‘go to’ bread for sandwiches and toast from now on, especially because I now have hours during the day to let the bread rise/bake. And the best thing? It freezes really well – Jenn brought me some as a baby warming gift and we sliced it, and stored it in the freezer. It freezes beautifully – we’ve pulled it out to make paninis, sandwiches and toast and all have turned out great. It’s a great recipe to try out bread making if you’ve never done it before. Give it a try – you might be surprised at how delicious and easy homemade bread can be!

Recipe for Light Wheat Bread

3 Comments

  1. Posted July 6, 2009 at 8:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love, love, love this bread. So yummy! I’m glad you like it. It’s my go-to bread now, too.

  2. Posted July 6, 2009 at 6:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i seriously was thinking about making bread. i don’t have a bread maker (and hear that they aren’t the best for a lot of ingredients i’d like to sprinkle through anyway…) but this recipe could maybe work for me! my fav store bought one right now is: http://arnold.gwbakeries.com/product.cfm/upc/7341002568 i really like the flavor, and one of my lil’ guys seriously needs fiber in his diet.

  3. Posted July 7, 2009 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I actually made this bread yesterday – and it was SO good, and so easy, too. I’ve never had good experiences with bread making (by hand OR machine, so sad), and this was great with my strawberry jam. Yum.

    I found kneading to be very therapeutic. I did it while the kiddos were sleeping, and it was very lovely.

    Thanks for the suggestion!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

