Top-Crust Peach and Cardamon Pie and Sour Cream Ice Cream

So for this past 4th of July weekend, Ellie and her husband were kind enough to bring us dinner! I felt the need to contribute to the awesome menu that they brought over by providing dessert. I mean, it’s the 4th of July, dessert is completely necessary! And pie and ice cream were what came to mind.

Now, I’m not really quite to the point where I felt like I could take on the world’s most complicated pie, (the baby still needs me too frequently for that) so I wanted something easy. Maybe even a cheater pie. . . and this is what I found:

It’s beautiful, right? Well, not only was it beautiful, it was so much easier than a traditional pie crust, with crust on the bottom and trying to roll the crust over the top with the crimping and the cutting vents . . . too much work for me at this point. This recipe just asked you to roll out the crust and cut circles out of it, then arrange them as shown. Easy peasy, right?

And the filling was easy too. I didn’t have to peel the peaches (I will rave about how glad I am to live in Texas to get Texas peaches – yum! They have been amazing this year!), just cut them, added a few other ingredients, put them in the pie dish and was done with it! Very easy. So here’s the recipe but keep reading because what’s a pie without ice cream?

Recipe for Top-Crust Peach and Cardamon Pie

Now, if you’ve read this blog for any period of time, you’ve probably seen the multitudes of ice cream recipes that I suggest to you all. And of course, I rave about all of them, right? Well this one was delicious too! Jason was super skeptical when I told him it was made with sour cream, but I tried to make it more appealing to him by likening it to goat cheese ice cream (which I need to make and post the recipe – yum!). I love the consistency and flavor of the ice cream, and again, the mantra for this dessert endeavor, super easy: just mixed the ingredients together and tossed it in the ice cream maker. No making custards, or cooking anything. Perfect for me. And DELICIOUS!

Recipe for Sour Cream Ice Cream

4 Comments

  1. Posted July 8, 2009 at 10:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    This dessert was so incredible!

  2. Posted July 8, 2009 at 11:18 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my. My mouth is watering. Literally.

  3. Posted July 9, 2009 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love anything with peaches…for sure!! Looks great and I think it was a great step in the kitchen for you during this busy time! 🙂

  4. Posted July 10, 2009 at 4:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m making this today! So far it’s been super easy, I’m just waiting for the crust to chill. Thanks for sharing!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

