Baby = One Month

I can’t believe that it’s been a month already. My little man is a month old, I’ve been home a month and now there are two months to go until I’m part time at work. I’m pretty worried about that transition. I can’t even begin to imagine how difficult it’s going to be. I’m trying not to spend too much time thinking about it now because there are a LOT of other things going on right now. . .

We’re still working on the diaper thing, I’m using the Huggies Pure and Natural (free sample here) for right now. I’m going to give the gdiapers another shot here shortly to see if the rash thing was just because he was so young. If it doesn’t work out, there’s always a market for them on Craigslist! I think he’s also finally getting big enough to try the Bum Genius diapers again. We will see.

Breastfeeding is continuing to get better – I thoroughly understand why some women give up though. If I didn’t have a support system to educate me on how to breastfeed and a supportive husband to help out and encourage me, I would have quit. It is demanding on your time, your body, your sleep . . . but I believe that it’s worth it for a variety of reasons (health, finances, bonding with baby, etc). I will say that it really started to get better when I got a baby application for my new iphone (yes, I’m a dork like that [it’s called ‘Total Baby’ for those of you that are fellow nerds]). It times the feedings, keeps track of which side was last, keeps track of diapers, immunizations, doctors visits, his growth. . . etc. Now, if I could only get it to do the laundry and clean the house! I have gotten good at typing one-handed and holding a book one handed as well. It’s amazing the adaptations you make for baby!

He is still sleeping at night but waking up frequently to eat (although last night he slept for 5 hours straight – amazing!). It’s kinda stressful at times but I know it will continue to get better as he grows and his stomach gets bigger so it can hold more milk. He has gone through several growth spurts where I pretty much sit on the couch and feed him all day. He’s growing and healthy though, and we are getting more sleep than we anticipated so I can’t complain! Additionally, the sling is such an amazing tool to help him fall asleep – I am definitely going to continue making these for all my friends that are having babies. It’s just invaluable!

And while we’re on the topic of babies sleeping, I have had many recommendations for the book Babywise, which advocates ‘parent directed scheduling’ to get your baby to sleep through the night sooner. I want to take a quick moment to address this book because many people don’t know the potential harm from this system. The American Academy of Pediatrics has denounced this method and our hospital sent us home with literature asking new parents not to use this method. It basically boils down to the fact that an infant needs to be feed 2-3 hours (or more often during growth spurts) and putting the baby on your schedule can lead to ‘failure to thrive’ and dehydration. Babies aren’t manipulative or lying to you when they cry. You can not spoil an infant. They have simple needs (food, sleep, changing, cuddling) and one way to communicate all of them. You can’t feed your baby too much and I fear that the Babywise method could lead parents to try and schedule their child into their schedule at the harm of the baby. And as an added side note, the author, Ezzo, has a very shady history. That doesn’t really help my opinion of the book. So there’s my brief commentary on that controversial book. My recommendation? The Happiest Baby on the Block – very middle of the road (in regards to parenting style) with sound medical advice. Ultimately, every baby is different and you have to make the decisions that work for your baby and your family.

I want to say thank you again to all the friends that have been bringing us food. It really has helped eased our transition and relieved so much stress on us. It’s so nice not to have to plan our meals and try and figure out how to juggle grocery shopping and cooking at this point. So thank you everyone so much – it means the world to us!

OK, that’s all I have for today. Sorry for the infrequent postings and I know there have been a lot of baby posts recently but I will start getting back into the routine of cooking and crafting at some point!

10 Comments

  1. Posted July 14, 2009 at 11:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t believe it’s already been a month! Amazing!

  2. Posted July 14, 2009 at 12:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, time flies. I definitely want to learn how to make slings! What a great way to save money.

    And you should definitely keep the mohawk look until he’s old enough to notice. 🙂

  3. Posted July 14, 2009 at 9:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So so so adorable. Congrats on one month of mommyhood! You’re doing great.

  4. Sarah Carroll
    Posted July 14, 2009 at 10:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t believe he’s a month old, either! I love those pictures. Oh, and no need to apologize for baby posting – I love it! 🙂

  5. Katherine
    Posted July 14, 2009 at 10:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Beth, I am so glad to see you so happy and your baby is so adorable. The Happiest Baby on the Block was a book that Brenda gave me and it really was great for us. Nathan started already sleeping most of the night after he was 2 months, but every baby is different. The only thing my mom recommended me when he was born is to keep a routine going so he can associate things. Example: with Nathan it has always been feeding, bath, read a book and to bed. He has always gotten used to it, the hour he goes to bed has varied over the months since going back to work was such a change for all of us. But overall Nathan has a certain schedule that fits his needs and what we more or less saw he was asking. Even now his feeding times, food wise, are according to what he requires calorie wise since his food allergies have played a huge part of his life we have to feed him more calories. Anyways, I am glad you are embracing this experience. Going back to work is so hard, don’t blame you on this. I even missed him in my belly, just carrying him, weird feeling. Just keep it positive and breastfeeding was such a huge part of our lifes since I knew he knew I was always there for him through this connection we had. Call me if you have any questions.

  6. charlotte333
    Posted July 15, 2009 at 8:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I just wanted to say that I’m happy reading baby posts. No hurry on making all the food and other stuff (though, I love reading those as well!) 🙂
    It’s really interesting to hear everything from your point of view.

  7. Posted July 17, 2009 at 7:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    He’s a cute little guy – happy one month, J! I hope that the five hours a night continues – R was on a pattern of five hours straight for nearly a week, and then once even six (which was pretty wonderful). Last night was four hours though. It’s the inconsistency that kills me!

    I second Happiest Baby On the Block. I saw him speak at a work conference some years back, and he was really informative.

    You’re looking lovely by the way. Hope your home sells quickly and you find another one that you love. 🙂

  8. Posted July 19, 2009 at 11:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Such sweet pictures! They grow so fast, don’t they?

  9. Posted December 25, 2009 at 8:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    My little girl was getting up every 2-3 hours at night and not sleeping well for her first 6 months or so. It was very difficult for me, and I started checking library books out around 4 months trying to find a solution. I, too, had heard the recommendations of Babywise, but I found the book sounded too harsh. It seemed that Ezzo really thought that parents who fed their babies when the babies acted hungry, or let them fall asleep in their arms, were setting themselves up for a disrespectful child who would run the house in later years.

    That said, I finally decided to try some scheduling and cry-it-out techniques (Baby Whisperer style) at 6 months, and that was my saving grace. After about two weeks, I had a baby who would only get up twice at night, and would take REAL naps. She still doesn’t sleep all night at 9 months, but I’m comfortable with what we’re doing.

    I do wish I’d tried to at least sort-of establish a schedule earlier (up until that 6 months, naptimes were never remotely consistent, feedings weren’t consistent, nothing), but certainly not in the way that Ezzo recommends.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 27, 2009 at 9:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I really do think that everyone does what works best for their family but Ezzo honestly scares me a little bit. It warms my heart to have Jude fall asleep in my arms. It doesn’t happen frequently but it is so sweet when it does.

      We do some very mild cry-it-out but I don’t know if we follow any technique since I haven’t read any literature on this method. I listen for a frantic quality in his cries to know if he really needs to be attended to. Really, he never cries longer then a minute or two.

      We are currently working on establishing a more regular schedule but the holidays have certainly thrown things off. 🙂 Right now, Jude only wakes up once a night sometime between 4:30am and 6am and then returns to sleep until around 8:30-9am. Not bad if you ask me!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

