World Peace Cookies

The claim is that if everyone ate one of these cookies a day, we would have world peace. Some say that these are World War 3 cookies, since a war would start if you tried to remove these cookies from their hands. I just think that they are delicious.

They are essentially chocolate wafer cookies that have bittersweet chocolate chips in them. They have this delicious sandy texture, and my favorite part? The fleur de sel salt. I love salt and sweet together.

They are pretty easy to make, albeit a bit messy. When combining the creamed butter with the cocoa mixture, make sure you do it slowly, or you’ll end up with cocoa powder all over everything. The dough mixture is very crumbly but it solidifies once you refrigerate it. Watch out on the dough though because there are no eggs, therefore it is safe to eat. And once you start eating the dough, you may not want to bake the cookies! 🙂

My recommendation when slicing the cookies, let the dough sit out at room temperature for about 20 minutes and make sure that your chocolate chips are small, otherwise it will pull the dough when slicing and crumble. If the pieces do crumble, just eat them reshape into a circle and it will bake together just fine. Be very careful not to overbake these cookies. They may not look done when you pull them out of the oven but let them sit a couple minutes before putting them on the cooling rack and they’ll be perfect.

So yes, I think this recipe is up there with the Car Bomb Cupcakes, but much less time intensive and a bit more elegant (I mean, come on, it has fleur de sel salt in it!). You may even already have all the ingredients in your pantry, and if you do, you should grab a glass of milk and certainly make these today!

Recipe for World Peace Cookies

3 Comments

  1. charlotte333
    Posted July 19, 2009 at 10:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    They were very delicious! And I think they would make peace – thanks for sharing!

  2. Posted July 19, 2009 at 11:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Mmmm. . . my tummy is rumbling just looking at them!

  3. Posted July 20, 2009 at 10:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    I haven’t been craving any sugary items yet, but these are sounding really good this morning!! 🙂

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] shortbread by Elizabeth I’ve been on a bit of a cookie kick lately. It started with the World Peace cookies and I haven’t been able to shake the urge to make cookies. Thankfully I have coworkers that I […]

  2. By Spicy Caramel Popcorn « think liz. on January 5, 2010 at 9:43 am

    […] The next several recipes that I have to share are all from our New Years spread. You can see world peace cookies, French bread, Gorgonzola honey toast points (which are simply slices of toasted bread with melted […]

  3. By Salted Brown Butter Crispy Treats « think liz. on January 6, 2010 at 10:02 am

    […] adding a little extra salt to the sweet. My Achilles heel. It’s why I keep coming back to the world peace cookies. . . Well. And the butter. It’s browned – another weakness of mine. Are you starting to […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

