Blueberry Frozen Yogurt

In an attempt at being healthier in my frozen treat creations, I tried out a recipe that Jenn passed on to me: Blueberry Frozen Yogurt. I will try pretty much any frozen treat recipe that does not involve making a custard prior to putting it in the ice cream maker, so this one met my standards! Not only is it delicious, it’s gorgeous and healthful. The color of the yogurt is such a beautiful deep purple and the blueberries just sing with the addition of cinnamon and lemon juice. Just amazing. I ended up using non-fat plain yogurt and adding the couple of tablespoons of cream and it worked beautifully. When I make this recipe again, I’m going to have to let the machine process it in two batches because it made my poor little 1.5 quart ice cream maker overflow!

Recipe for Blueberry Frozen Yogurt


(I actually took this picture! Yay for finally kinda learning how to use our fancy camera!)

2 Comments

  1. Posted July 27, 2009 at 2:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so glad you liked the recipe! Love how frozen yogurt is so much easier to make than ice cream (at least the way I normally do it, with a custard base). The Flavor Bible had recommended cinnamon as a complementary spice to blueberries and I think it really does work here.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted July 27, 2009 at 2:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hmm the Flavor Bible, huh? I might have to get that! I never knew that cinnamon was a complementary spice to blueberries. I would think and stone-fruit, apples, etc but berries. . .not so much!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

