Light Brioche Burger Buns

Now it’s no secret that I love brioche. So when smitten kitchen posted this recipe, I knew I was going to have to make it. I mean, I had all the ingredients on hand and we were going to be making burgers to entertain some of our neighbors. Fresh burger buns have to be better than the store bought ones, right? I know people must think that I’m crazy to make my own buns when they’re so cheap at the stores. Oh goodness, there is just no comparison (not to mention, no high fructose corn syrup either).

I love this recipe. The dough is stickier than most bread doughs, but that’s just the way brioche bread dough is. Try not to add too much more flour when kneading. If it’s just too sticky, let it rest for a couple minutes for the flour to absorb the liquid.

Although these buns are delicious all by themselves (a few met their fate in my stomach without any accompaniments) we did end up using them with burger patties. Our neighbors may have thought us odder than we actually are if we just served them buns. . . And what kind of burger did we opt to make? Why, the best burger of all times of course, the cowboy burger:

Now what are you waiting for? Get off the computer and go make some of these!

Recipe for Light Brioche Burger Buns

7 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted July 28, 2009 at 1:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I saw this recipe and they look amazing…and I love the cowboy burger!

  2. Posted July 28, 2009 at 3:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ditto on homemade buns. They are so much better than store-bought! And significantly cheaper, too, even though they are cheap to begin with at the store. I bet when I made mine (16), it only cost 50 cents. Yours look super yummy!

  3. Posted July 28, 2009 at 9:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I made these as well a few weeks back, really tasty. I was thinking of trying it again and forming a few for use with hot dogs or sausages, at least for me it’s harder to find good quality hot dog buns than it is hamburger buns.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted July 28, 2009 at 10:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I was thinking about shaping these like hot dog buns too and using poppyseeds instead of sesame seeds. My husband has some memory of poppyseed hotdog buns being his favorite.

  4. Tara
    Posted July 29, 2009 at 10:30 am | Permalink | Reply

    Do they freeze well?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted July 29, 2009 at 10:57 am | Permalink | Reply

      I haven’t frozen then yet myself but I asked the same question to Deb at Smitten Kitchen and she said they would freeze well as dough or fully baked. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ve frozen fresh bread before and I definitely like doing that better than putting it in the refrigerator!

  5. Posted August 5, 2009 at 9:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    These look delicious — I need to give them a try. Now that I am eating beef again, we might actually have some hamburgers to go with them! 🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] grocery shopping because I want my fridge to be as empty as possible so that lead me to baking up hamburger buns so we could enjoy our free swanson’s burgers and baking this banana bread so we would have […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

