Six Weeks

Time is just flying! I’m halfway through my maternity leave and Jude is already 6 weeks old. Unbelievable!

We starting doing baby massages and Jude just LOVES them. He gets all excited and coos and makes the best noises in the world. One of the massages we do is called the ‘I Love You’ massage. See this video to learn more about that. We’re using Jojoba oil for the massage because a masseuse told me that it is the closest oil to natural human oils and it would be the best for use on baby skin.

I’ve also started giving Jude some baby probiotics. Not a whole lot at a time but I figure it’s a good idea to build the healthy micro-organisms in his stomach and intestines little by little since he started out with none when he was born. It’s funny to think that we dose out antibiotics so frequently but never really do much to build the healthy bacteria in our guts once they’ve all been wiped out by antibiotics. Yogurt is really good for this in adults, but since I can’t feed Jude yogurt, he’ll just get a little in powdered form each time I feed him. 🙂 You can typically find probiotics behind the counter in most pharmacies. They have them for adults as well.

My friend Krista told me about gripe water for babies to help soothe hiccups, which Jude is still getting two or three times a day. They tend to make him a little upset and the gripe water completely gets rid of them quickly! Not to mention, some of the other benefits of gripe water are soothing upset and gassy stomachs. . . since Jude is a farting machine, I’m hoping this will help with that as well!

All that to say that this whole mom thing is getting more fun by the day. It’s so cool to see his personality starting to develop and to watch him grow and change everyday. What a blessing it is to be a mom!

10 Comments

  1. cooperella
    Posted July 28, 2009 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    awwww… he’s getting big so fast!!

  2. elliek
    Posted July 28, 2009 at 1:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s so great to hear about how much you’re loving being a mom! I knew you would and that you would be great at it! He’s so precious!

  3. Posted July 28, 2009 at 5:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    He is so adorable!! I’ve seen some pics of your dad on your site and I totally see him in Jude! I’m so happy you’re enjoying your time with him.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted July 28, 2009 at 10:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You know, I see a lot of my dad in him too! You’re the first person to say that besides me! I think his nose is definitly my dad’s.

  4. Posted July 28, 2009 at 8:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow… what a precious little guy you have! Doesn’t the time just go by too fast?

    My co-worker, an occupational therapist as well as an infant massage instructor, gave me a “free” massage lesson as a gift, along with some goodies, and it’s been great. Rhys loves his arms and legs massaged… not a huge fan of his stomach being touched (though we’ve found it does help with gas release).

    And we use gripe water, too… especially in the evenings when he’s the most fussy!

    You’re doing a great job, Mama! Keep it up!!

  5. Posted July 28, 2009 at 8:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, and as far as the gas or any straining he might do, a couple of our friends have suggested chiropractic care. One woman told me that her daughter was out of alignment, and seemed incredibly uncomfortable. She took her in, was aligned, and immediately had a bowl movement and slept through the night. Tempting, isn’t it? 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted July 28, 2009 at 10:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

      That’s very tempting, especially because i want to go to get my hips worked on… hmmm. It’s scary to think of someone popping Jude’s bones…

  6. Posted July 29, 2009 at 3:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    Jude is so cute, you are so lucky to have such great photos for the future so you can remember how little he once was, looks like he’s growing super fast! It’s great to hear you are really enjoying being a Mum too and learning all about your little one.

    You’ve also inspired me to get a new camera with all of your amazing photos and learn to take some decent ones. I’ve decided my little camera I keep in my handbag is still really useful but want to get a ‘proper one’ I’m sure it will take me a long time to work it out though.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted July 29, 2009 at 5:25 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Jade! My husband takes most of the photos on my blog with his Canon D40. His younger brother is a professional photographer so he’s learned a lot from him! I love that Jason picked up photography as a hobby while I was pregnant. I think it’s going to be so valuable to have all these photos!

  7. Posted July 29, 2009 at 5:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yes, ditto on the scary part… but I’m generally skeptical of chiropractors (though the hubby swears by them)…

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

