Cappuccino Brownies

Yes, I know, I should lay off the sweets in favor of more healthful options to help me return to pre-pregnancy weight, but somehow, I just can’t resist a good recipe. Especially when it involves chocolate.

Oh my goodness, doesn’t that make your mouth water? I was making them to entertain our neighbors . . . so therefore I couldn’t make a low fat dessert! What might that communicate to our new friends?

The topping of these brownies is a white chocolate ganache dusted with cinnamon. The brownie is the coffee (it has instant espresso in it) and the white chocolate is the foam – clever, right?

I’m not typically one that enjoys white chocolate. It’s always seemed a bit cloyingly sweet to me, and in reality, it’s not chocolate at all, but cocoa butter. I think, though, that in this application, it works perfectly. The unsweetened chocolate in the brownie is sweetened by a bit of sugar, but the white chocolate topping just finishes it off with the ideal amount of additional sweetness.

I did toss in some bittersweet chocolate chips since I am trying to clean out our pantry for the upcoming move. . . and I think that it added a bit more decadence to an already decadent treat. . . but that was alright with me. 🙂

Recipe for Cappuccino Brownies

4 Comments

  1. Posted July 29, 2009 at 8:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh don’t stop with the sweet recipes please, these look great, love the way the white chocolate looks like the frothy milk! I wish you were my neighbour I would love some of these 😉

  2. Posted July 29, 2009 at 1:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those look amazing!

  3. Posted August 9, 2009 at 12:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    Just wanted to tell you I made these brownies at a women’s cooking party/group tonight, and they were a big hit! The recipe was challenging but not overwhelming, and they were really fun to make … and eat, of course. 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 9, 2009 at 2:51 am | Permalink | Reply

      I’m so glad that they turned out for you! And that everyone enjoyed them. They are delicious!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

